Media and English blog

The library subscribes to the journal Critical Studies in Media Communications from 1998 onwards.

This peer-reviewed journal publishes original scholarship in mediated and mass communication from a cultural studies and/or critical perspective.

Articles in recent issues include:

• Establishing 911: media infrastructures of affective anti-Black, pro-police dispositions
• Promoting extreme fitness regimes through the communicative affordances of reality makeover television
• A not so special episode: laughing at abortion on television
• Casting heroes and victims of disaster events

Hop onto Library Search to get stuck into this journal.

The library has subscribed to a new collection of eBooks from Sage publishing. The package includes unlimited access to many titles including some we previously could not buy as eBooks.

To view eBooks from Sage Catalyst, visit the library homepage, search for Sage Catalyst via Database Search, and then go to View Online.

You can view all the eBooks relevant to you in Sage Catalyst by selecting relevant subjects in the category section. You may wish to explore:

• Study Skills
• Communication and Media Studies
• Or one of the many other categories!

In addition, all Sage Catalysis eBooks are discoverable on Library Search.

If you know the title of the eBook, you can visit Library Search and click on the full text link from the record to access the eBook.

If you need any further help with accessing SAGE Catalyst or any of our other databases, please get in touch via Library Chat or email at library@sunderland.ac.uk.

The Shakespeare database is an up-to-date textual resource and includes information even on the latest feature films that have yet to be broadcast on non-subscription channels available on Box of Broadcasts such as Spielberg’s West Side Story (a Disney exclusive) and Joel Coen’s Macbeth (currently streaming only on Apple TV).

It has recently reached the milestone of having its 10,000th entry! The resource includes websites, podcasts, features films, TV and radio broadcasts and much more, some of the latest additions include an episode of the BBC’s Father Brown series that quotes liberally from Much Ado About Nothing; a video recording of an interview with Simon Russell Beale about his Shakespearean roles; a podcast devoted to love of the Bard from a teenager’s point of view; a radio documentary about Lady Macbeth; an uncut production of Macbeth shot entirely in close-up using iPhones; a DVD release of The Winter’s Tale filmed at The Globe; and much more.

You can access it for free online.

[Based on text provided with permission by Learning on Screen]