Suzie Williams
Through our Sage Catalyst subscription, we have access to a range of ebooks on study skills.
Titles include:
Head online, login and get reading!
The MLA International Bibliography covers a broad range of subjects including world languages and literatures, linguistics, dramatic arts, film, folklore, rhetoric and writing studies, teaching of language, and history of publishing. Its expansive scope also makes it an excellent resource for research in history, philosophy, communications, and cross-disciplinary subjects such as gender studies and area studies.
This short video gives you an introduction to the database:
What Is the MLA International Bibliography? (on EBSCO) from Modern Language Association on Vimeo.
To discover more about how you can use this resource help you with your studies and research, you can sign up to a free five-unit online course that will help you search more efficiently, understand your search results and locate publications you want to read. You can collect digital badges for successful completion of each unit.
Go to the MLA web site to find out more about the course and sign up for free!
Suzie Williams
The University of Sunderland Library Services web site brings you a new feature called 'Collections', which replaces our monthly new book lists for all subject areas.
Previously, our new book lists have been included within our Library Reading Lists web page, and have been a way to showcase new title purchases over the academic year. These reading lists which were updated monthly reflected the continuing development of our library collections as subject areas evolve.
Collections are embedded into our Library Search, which brings with it new features that will prove useful to students and staff looking to make use of our latest titles, including the ability to pin both the collection and individual books to your 'My Favourites' within your library account.
New book collections are continuously updated as new titles are purchased, meaning you are able to view our latest titles as soon as they are available. We hope that you find Collections a useful addition to our library services.
Visit this link to access the New Books Collection for the Faculty of Arts and Creative Industries now.
The Shakespeare database is an up-to-date textual resource and includes information even on the latest feature films that have yet to be broadcast on non-subscription channels available on Box of Broadcasts such as Spielberg’s West Side Story (a Disney exclusive) and Joel Coen’s Macbeth (currently streaming only on Apple TV).
It has over 10,000 entries! The resource includes websites, podcasts, features films, TV and radio broadcasts and much more, some of the latest additions include an episode of the BBC’s Father Brown series that quotes liberally from Much Ado About Nothing; a video recording of an interview with Simon Russell Beale about his Shakespearean roles; a podcast devoted to love of the Bard from a teenager’s point of view; a radio documentary about Lady Macbeth; an uncut production of Macbeth shot entirely in close-up using iPhones; a DVD release of The Winter’s Tale filmed at The Globe; and much more.
You can access it for free online.
[Based on text provided with permission by Learning on Screen]
Our Faculty of Arts and Creative Industries Creative Lives talks offer many examples of how creative professionals live, work and thrive in the arts and creative industries. You will gain an insight into the creative process and career routes through a series of talks from local and nationally-renowned practitioners at different career stages, many of whom are University of Sunderland alumni. You’ll hear from artists, designers, makers, photographers, curators, filmmakers, and much more.
These online talks are open to all students and staff in the Faculty of Arts and Creative Industries, as well as other member of the university and the general public. There’s no need to book individual places, just join online on the day - Tuesdays at 4pm online.
Please join us via this link – Click here to join the meetings.
There are many reasons you might need to do research in a newspaper archive. You might be interested in how an event was reported in London versus Glasgow vs New York. You might be interested in when a term like ‘Covid’ or ‘Black Lives Matter’ first appeared in the newspaper media. You might be fact-checking or researching an article you’re writing, or you might just want to read more so you can become a better writer.
The newspaper archive that the University of Sunderland Library subscribes to is called Newsstream. This resource contains online full-text access to over 600 UK regional, national and broadsheet newspapers as well as international press such as The Financial Times, The Wall Street Journal, The New York Times, The Washington Post, The Bangkok Post, South China Morning Post, and the Jerusalem Post. Coverage goes back as far as January 1982 to the present day for some titles, although this varies by publication.
Remember, you might also be interested in how the news is reported on the TV and radio, and you can use Box of Broadcasts to do the same types of searching as you can in Newsstream for print media.
Here is a 10 minute video tutorial which walks you through how to access Newsstream:
The Shakespeare database is an up-to-date textual resource and includes information even on the latest feature films that have yet to be broadcast on non-subscription channels available on Box of Broadcasts such as Spielberg’s West Side Story (a Disney exclusive) and Joel Coen’s Macbeth (currently streaming only on Apple TV).
It has recently reached the milestone of having its 10,000th entry! The resource includes websites, podcasts, features films, TV and radio broadcasts and much more, some of the latest additions include an episode of the BBC’s Father Brown series that quotes liberally from Much Ado About Nothing; a video recording of an interview with Simon Russell Beale about his Shakespearean roles; a podcast devoted to love of the Bard from a teenager’s point of view; a radio documentary about Lady Macbeth; an uncut production of Macbeth shot entirely in close-up using iPhones; a DVD release of The Winter’s Tale filmed at The Globe; and much more.
You can access it for free online.
[Based on text provided with permission by Learning on Screen]
Log in to Sage Catalyst and select 'Research Methods and Evaluation'.
Titles include:
Head online, login and happy reading!