Suzie Williams
Through our Sage Catalyst subscription, we have access to a range of books on research methods.
Log in to Sage Catalyst and select 'Research Methods and Evaluation'.
Titles include:
Head online, login and happy reading!
Through our Sage Catalyst subscription, we have access to a range of ebooks on study skills.
Titles include:
Head online, login and get reading!
The University of Sunderland Library Services web site brings you a new feature called 'Collections', which replaces our monthly new book lists for all subject areas.
Previously, our new book lists have been included within our Library Reading Lists web page, and have been a way to showcase new title purchases over the academic year. These reading lists which were updated monthly reflected the continuing development of our library collections as subject areas evolve.
Collections are embedded into our Library Search, which brings with it new features that will prove useful to students and staff looking to make use of our latest titles, including the ability to pin both the collection and individual books to your 'My Favourites' within your library account.
New book collections are continuously updated as new titles are purchased, meaning you are able to view our latest titles as soon as they are available. We hope that you find Collections a useful addition to our library services.
Visit this link to access the New Books Collection for the Faculty of Arts and Creative Industries now.
The Shakespeare database is an up-to-date textual resource and includes information even on the latest feature films that have yet to be broadcast on non-subscription channels available on Box of Broadcasts such as Spielberg’s West Side Story (a Disney exclusive) and Joel Coen’s Macbeth (currently streaming only on Apple TV).
It has more than 10,000 entries! The resource includes websites, podcasts, features films, TV and radio broadcasts and much more, some of the latest additions include an episode of the BBC’s Father Brown series that quotes liberally from Much Ado About Nothing; a video recording of an interview with Simon Russell Beale about his Shakespearean roles; a podcast devoted to love of the Bard from a teenager’s point of view; a radio documentary about Lady Macbeth; an uncut production of Macbeth shot entirely in close-up using iPhones; a DVD release of The Winter’s Tale filmed at The Globe; and much more.
You can access it for free online.
[Based on text provided with permission by Learning on Screen]
Animated is a community dance magazine published by People Dancing. It gives you insight into a range of views and voices about practice in participatory dance. You can use it as a source when researching for your assignments.
The Library has a subscription to the print version of this magazine which can be found in the Library@DavidGoldman.
Did you also know that People Dancing gives free access on their web site to a number of previously published articles since 1996?
Maybe you’ve only used books so far in your assignments. We also have many more journals available through our Art Full Text and International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance databases which you access from the Performing Arts subject pages.
If you want any support in finding relevant literature for your assignments contact us 24/7 on Library Talk, or you can make a 1-2-1 consultation to see me, Suzie Williams, your Academic Liaison Librarian. Request a session now!
Our Faculty of Arts and Creative Industries Creative Lives talks offer many examples of how creative professionals live, work and thrive in the arts and creative industries. You will gain an insight into the creative process and career routes through a series of talks from local and nationally-renowned practitioners at different career stages, many of whom are University of Sunderland alumni. You’ll hear from artists, designers, makers, photographers, curators, filmmakers, and much more.
These online talks are open to all students and staff in the Faculty of Arts and Creative Industries, as well as other member of the university and the general public. There’s no need to book individual places, just join online on the day - Tuesdays at 4pm online.
Please join us via this link – Click here to join the meetings.
How are you getting on with using Box of Broadcasts?
Isn’t it a brilliant resource?!
For anyone who hasn’t discovered it yet, Box of Broadcasts (often know as BoB) is an on-demand TV & radio streaming service. The University Library subscribes to this resources so that our staff and students have access to BoB’s archive. It also gives the ability to record upcoming programmess over 65 free-to-air channels from the UK and beyond.
This series of short videos will help you get the most out of this resource for your studies and research including:
The library has subscribed to a new collection of eBooks from Sage publishing. The package includes unlimited access to many titles including some we previously could not buy as eBooks.
To view eBooks from Sage Catalyst, visit the library homepage, search for Sage Catalyst via Database Search, and then go to View Online.
You can view all the eBooks relevant to you in Sage Catalyst by selecting relevant subjects in the category section. You may wish to explore:
In addition, all Sage Catalysis eBooks are discoverable on Library Search.
If you know the title of the eBook, you can visit Library Search and click on the full text link from the record to access the eBook.
If you need any further help with accessing SAGE Catalyst or any of our other databases, please get in touch via Library Chat or email at library@sunderland.ac.uk.