The University of Sunderland Library Services website is bringing in a new feature called 'Collections', which will replace our monthly new book lists for all subject areas.
Previously, our new book lists have been included within our Library Reading Lists webpage, and have been a way to showcase new title purchases over the academic year. These reading lists - which were updated monthly - reflect the continuing development of our library collections as subject areas evolve.
Collections are embedded into our library search, which brings with it a few new features that will prove useful to students and staff looking to make use of our latest titles; including the ability to pin both the collection, and individual books to your 'favourites' within your library account.
New book collections will be updated continuously as new titles are purchased, meaning library users are able to view our latest titles as soon as they are available. We hope that you find Collections a useful addition to our library services.
Visit the link below to access the New Books Collection for Law now.
New Books for Law
Understanding the resources available to you and how to make the most of them is crucial for success throughout your degree and beyond; this is why it is important to take advantage of any chance to learn directly from the providers of your learning resources when the opportunity arises.
Law Trove is an eBook platform published by Oxford University Press which contains approximately 200 current law textbooks. These titles form a large part of the core reading for your course, making them vital to your academic development.
Law Trove are hosting a series of webinars to guide users through the many tools and features available within the platform. These webinars are hosted by product experts and cover a wide variety of topics from accessing and setting up a profile, searching for and saving content, annotating, creating citations, as well as accessing additional resources. Near the end there will be a Q&A, giving you the chance to ask further questions if you wish to do so.
These 30 minute webinars are being hosted online on the following dates. Follow the links below to register your interest for the chosen time.
Tuesday 30th January, 1pm.
Friday 2nd February, 12pm.
Wednesday 7th February, 3pm.
Thursday 8th February, 10am.
Whether you have used Law Trove before, or are a new student looking to develop your understanding of the many resources available to you, these sessions should prove useful.
This link opens in a new window
Law Trove is an eBook platform containing over 200 current law textbook titles published by Oxford University Press
A collaboration between our Law and Criminology students has brought forth the first issue of the Sunderland Journal of Law and Criminology (SJLC).
Edited by senior law lecturer Zach Legget, this journal is a platform for publishing the excellent work conducted by students of all levels and programmes within our law and criminology departments.
SJLC is peer-reviewed and available Open Access, providing students the opportunity for their scholarly work to be available to the wider public. Along with this, the journal allows our students to gain valuable experience working within an academic journal, as they have the chance to take part in the process of peer-review, or become members the editorial board.
Please follow the link below to read the first issue of the Sunderland Journal of Law and Criminology. You can also access the journal through our Library Search.
Our subscription to Law Trove - a collection of nearly 200 law textbooks published by Oxford University Press - has been updated to include the latest editions of many essential textbooks. These new editions cover an array of topics including EU Law, International Law, Criminal Law, and Medical Law. Ensuring that our Law collections remain up-to-date is crucial for teaching and learning, as it means our materials remain relevant to new developments in the law. A small selection of these latest editions can be found below, click on the cover to view the title in our Library Search.
Smith, Hogan and Ormerod's Essentials of Criminal Law by
Any reading lists which included previous editions of these titles has been updated to include the newest edition available through Law Trove.
You can access Law Trove using the link below to view the full range of titles available in this collection.
We have recently purchased a range of new books for our Law courses. These new books contribute to our physical law collection in the St. Peter's Library, Catherine Cookson Reading Room; while also building on and keeping our ebook collections up-to-date with the latest titles. You can view a small selection of these new purchases below, for the full list of new books and ebooks purchased for law please visit our New Books for Law Collection.
You can click on the book covers below to view the items in our Library Search. Remember to use our Library Search to find further titles within your subject area.
To view our full list of new books and ebooks for Law, follow the link below. If you have any more suggestions for titles within your subject area which we do not already have, feel free to complete our Suggest a Book form.
New Books for Law Collection.
Law Trove, an Ebook collection from Oxford University Press which provides access to over 200 key textbooks, has been updated to contain several of the latest editions of important titles.
These latest editions form much of the core reading for our Law modules, covering subject areas such as Contract Law, Criminal Law, Family Law, and Legal Skills. Your reading lists have already been updated to include these new editions.
You can view these titles from our New Books for Law Collection, or access them directly from the Law Trove database linked below.
Law Trove is an eBook platform containing over 200 current law textbook titles published by Oxford University Press
Law Trove User Guide