There are many more high-quality OA resources available online. We have compiled a list of some of our favourites below to give you a head start with finding the best resources for your assignments.
| Directory of Open Access Repositories (OpenDOAR) | A worldwide index of research repositories. |
| J-STAGE | An electronic journal platform for science and technology information in Japan. |
| JSTOR and Artstor | Partnerships with libraries and publishers help JSTOR and Artstor make content discoverable and freely accessible. |
| NCBI Bookshelf | Provides free online access to books and documents in life science and healthcare. |
| OASIS | A large, user-friendly OER search engine that allows users to search by subject or course material type, e.g. textbooks, simulations, audio. |
| Paperity Open Science Aggregated | A multidisciplinary aggregator of open-access journals and papers, from Sciences, Technology, Medicine, to Social Sciences, to Humanities and Arts. |
| Project Muse | Offers open-access books, journals, and digital humanities works from several university presses and not-for-profit academic publishers. |
| Scientific Research Journals (SCIRP) | One of the largest open-access journal publishers, currently publishing more than 200 open-access, online, peer-reviewed journals covering a wide range of academic disciplines. |
| SpringerLink | Providing access to open-access scientific books and journals. |
| Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB) | Service of OAPEN Foundation based at the National Library in The Hague. This database contains more than 5,000 academic, peer-reviewed books from 163 publishers. |
| HathiTrust Digital Library | Partnership of academic and research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitised from libraries around the world. |
| LSE Press | LSE Press is a publisher of high-quality, open-access research in the social sciences. They provide free online access to quality, peer-reviewed books and journals. |
| OAPEN | Open Access Publishing in European Networks (OAPEN) Library contains freely accessible academic books, mainly in the area of humanities and social sciences. |
| Open Book Publishers | Founded in 2008 by a small group of academics at the University of Cambridge, Open Book Publishers publishes monographs and textbooks in the Humanities and Social Sciences. All books are available to read for free online. |
| Project Gutenberg | Offers over 53,000 free ebooks, most of which are primary source texts: choose among free ePUB books, free Kindle books, download them or read them online. |
| National Academies Press Free eBooks | Created by the National Academy of Sciences to publish the reports of the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering and Medicine, with more than 8,500 titles in PDF format. |
| Open Access Button | This app detects paywalled content and provides access to OA alternatives. |
| Unpaywall | An open database of 50,985,732 free scholarly articles. |
| CORE Discovery | Access to free copies of research papers whenever you hit the paywall. |