News from the library (Blog) - Library Guides at University of Sunderland

Featured

CURRENT TRIAL: Have You Tried CAS SciFinder or CAS BioFinder Yet?

10/28/2025

Bradley Bulch

No Subjects

We’re inviting staff and students to take a look at two research tools currently being explored by the Library — CAS SciFinder and CAS BioFinder. These platforms bring together a wide range of chemical, biological, and related scientific information that could be useful for your research, projects, or teaching.

Register first

If you’re curious about what they offer, there are a few steps to access the resource, so go to this FAQ which has the links and instructions on setting up access: https://librarytalk.sunderland.ac.uk/faq/284445.

Then feedback

Once you have taken a look at this resource, please share your feedback by completing this short form. This will help us to decide whether to purchase full access once the trial is finished.

BioFinder is an add-on to SciFinder. You can view training resources on how to use the platform at the following link: https://www.cas.org/training

Accessing once you've registered:

Once you have registered using the instructions in the FAQ above you can use this link to access with the username and password you've created: https://login.sunderland.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://scifinder.cas.org

No Subjects

Accessing British Pharmacopoeia

03/27/2025

Bradley Bulch

0 Comments

There has been a recent change to the way users are required to log into The British Pharmacopoeia through our institutional subscription. For anyone who has encountered an issue accessing this database, we will provide some brief instructions with screenshots below.

Start by accessing British Pharmacopoeia as usual, or using the link here:

British Pharmacopoeia

The British Pharmacopoeia (BP) is the official collection of standards for UK medicinal products and pharmaceutical substances. Produced by the British Pharmacopoeia Commission Secretariat of the Medicines and Healthcare Products Regulatory Agency, the BP makes a valuable contribution to public health by setting publicly available standards for the quality of medicines.

To access the University of Sunderland's subscription, select 'Login via Institution'

You will now need to choose the 'Login via your institution' button below the main Login option when you first visit the database homepage.

Once you have followed this link use the search box that appears to search for 'University of Sunderland', students and staff of the university will then need to choose the first listed option.

You will then need to log in using the same user ID and password you use to access other library resources.

Once you have access to The British Pharmacopoeia, you can find out how to make the most of the new user interface by watching the video linked below.

No Subjects

LibKey Nomad Trial - Have a Go!

02/25/2025

Bradley Bulch

0 Comments

The Library is running a three month trial of Libkey Nomad from 3rd February 2025; and we encourage you to try it out.

Libkey Nomad is a browser extension which checks if resources such as journal articles or books are available in our collections or Open Access as you browse the web.

This means if you come across research on a publishers website, or view a book on Amazon, Libkey Nomad will let you know if what you are viewing is available through our subscriptions, providing you with one-click access. This helps make access to resources quicker, more convenient, and prevents you from running into paywalls.

If you wish to try Libkey Nomad today to see how it can help your studies, it is available for most major browsers through the link below.

https://thirdiron.com/downloadnomad/

No Subjects

Feed back about Library spaces, AI for research and more

01/21/2025

Leah Emary

0 Comments

The Big Talk is live! You can complete the survey right now at go.sunderland.ac.uk/share

Each year, the Library and our colleagues across Student Journey ask you to talk to us about your needs in our Big Talk campaign. From now until April, you will see us dotted around campus with iPads asking you to take 5 minutes to tell us what you think about how we can develop . I'm particularly keen that pharmaceutical sciences, pharmacy and bioscience students help feed into the Library@Murray refurbishment plans. I know you're in the Library a LOT and you will have great ideas on how to improve and develop this space.

This year we're also asking about Artificial Intelligence, as we have our eye on a few developments, but want to make sure we're implementing the right things and providing clear and useful guidance on how and when to use them. There are also chances to tell us about your academic and digital skills and to feed back to YourSU.

Your feedback really does make a big difference to University planning and decision-making. We've already used Big Talk feedback to:

Secure investment in Library@Murray to create additional library study spaces at City Campus
Improve the wifi and heating in our Library spaces
Launch the library room booking system which is just for students
Develop our Library Study Skills offer

Thanks a lot and I look forward to seeing what you have to say.

No Subjects

Library building opening hours over the holidays

12/19/2024

Leah Emary

0 Comments

Library Buildings over the University closure period

Library building opening hours are available on our webpage. Please always check before you come in!

Library@Murray is open but unstaffed from 10:00-18:00 each day from Saturday 21 December – Tuesday 31 December.
Library@Murray will be closed on Christmas Day, Boxing Day and New Year’s Day.
Library@Pasteur will be closed from 15 December until 6 January.
Routine opening hours and staffing resume on 2 January.

Digital access to Library collections and services is in place 24/7, including Library Talk.

Here for the Holidays

Are you on campus for the holidays. Find out what's happening here go.sunderland.ac.uk/here4hols.

No Subjects

BNF 88 now available in the Library - or wherever you are!

11/15/2024

Leah Emary

0 Comments

The 88th edition of the British National Formulary or BNF, is now available in the Library.

Subject: Pharmacy & Pharmaceutical Sciences

Welcome and welcome back!

07/18/2024

Leah Emary

0 Comments

Welcome to all of our new students and welcome back to all returners. I'm looking forward to meeting you and welcoming you (back) to the Library.

New students:

You will likely see me, Leah, or another Library colleague in one of your modules for a Library welcome. We'll tell you about how to get started using the Library
You might also see me, Leah, or a study skills advisor who will get you started with researching for your first assignment if you're enrolled on BPS113, CSC102, PHA114 or HCS11.
If you would like to get started on your own, have a look at our Library Essentials Library Guide

Returning students:

Welcome back!
One change you'll notice is that your reading lists have a new interface and we're pretty excited about how they appear and work you. Enjoy!
You will likely see me, Leah, in one of your modules, particularly if you're getting ready for your dissertation or a final project. See you soon, if you're enrolled on BPS310. I'll be seeing you in Mpharm & Biosciences level two in the second semester.
If you don't have a session scheduled, but feel you could benefit from Library or Study Skills support, you can make a 121 appointment with your librarian or a study skills advisor by filling in this form.

Subject: Pharmacy & Pharmaceutical Sciences, Subject: Medicinal Chemistry, Subject: Biochemistry & Biopharmaceutical Science , Subject: Cosmetic Science, Subject: Biomedical Science

Summer reading suggestions

07/18/2024

Leah Emary

0 Comments

If you have some down time planned in this summer, there are many books in the Library which you might enjoy reading for pleasure. Cheryl, Librarian for Medicine, has curated a list of health-related holiday reads which you can borrow from the Library on the lower level of Murray Health.Health and Medicine related Holiday Reading List

Happy reading! From your librarians, Leah, Elaine, Cheryl, Harriet and Laura.

Subject: Medicine, Subject: Psychology & Counselling, Subject: Public Health, Subject: Nursing & Midwifery, Subject: Sport, Subject: Allied Health, Subject: Paramedic Science, Subject: Pharmacy & Pharmaceutical Sciences, Subject: Medicinal Chemistry, Subject: Biochemistry & Biopharmaceutical Science , Subject: Cosmetic Science, Subject: Healthcare Sciences, Subject: Biomedical Science

New ebooks added to the Biomedical Science Collection

01/23/2024

Laura Di Mauro

0 Comments

We have recently purchased a series of eBooks called The Fundamentals of Biomedical Science. These books have been available to borrow in print but can now be accessed by students from wherever they are with their university ID and password.

Browse the new purchases by clicking on the book cover below.

Remember: to discover further titles within your subject area visit Library search. If you have any more suggestions which we do not already have, complete our Suggest a Book form.

Biomedical Science Practice: Experimental & Professional Skills by Nessar Ahmed; Hedley Glencross; Qiuyu Wang

ISBN: 9780198831228

Publication Date: 2022

Cell Structure and Function by Guy Orchard; Brian Nation

ISBN: 9780199652471

Publication Date: 2014

Clinical Biochemistry by Nessar Ahmed

ISBN: 0199674442

Publication Date: 2017

Clinical Immunology by Angela Hall ; Christopher Baldwin

ISBN: 9780199657650

Publication Date: 2016

Cytopathology by Behdad Shambayati (Editor)

ISBN: 9780198717362

Publication Date: 2018

Data Handling and Analysis by Andrew Blann

ISBN: 9780198812210

Publication Date: 2018

Haematology by Gary Moore; Gavin Knight; Andrew Blann

ISBN: 0198826095

Publication Date: 2021

Histopathology by Guy Orchard; Brian Nation

ISBN: 9780198717331

Publication Date: 2021

Medical Microbiology by Michael Ford

ISBN: 9780198818144

Publication Date: 2019

Molecular Diagnostics by Anthony Warford (Editor); Nadege Presneau (Editor)

ISBN: 9780198777069

Publication Date: 2019

Transfusion and Transplantation Science by Neil Avent (Editor)

ISBN: 9780198735731

Publication Date: 2018

Subject: Biomedical Science

New Books For Pharmacy, Cosmetic Science & Bioscience

10/19/2023

Laura Di Mauro

1 Comments

We have recently purchased a range of new books for our Pharmacy, Cosmetic Science & Bioscience programs. The new titles enrich our physical book and ebook collection with the newest edition. Visit Library@Murray to borrow a physical copy or explore the online collection via Library search.

Thanks to student feedback, we have also bought more copies of "Aulton's Pharmaceutics: The Design and Manufacture of Medicines 6th Edition", available both as print or ebook for you to access.

Browse a few of the new purchases by clicking on the book cover below or to view the full list visit your New Books for Health Sciences & Wellbeing (HSWNEW) Library reading list.

Remember: to discover further titles within your subject area visit Library search or If you have any more suggestions which we do not already have, complete our Suggest a Book form.