Special Collections blog - Library Guides at University of Sunderland

Back in March 2024, our Project Cataloguing Archivist, Ellie Clewlow, published a blog post giving her first impressions of the Kate Adie Collection. One year on and 240 boxes, 1200 film clips and 2350 catalogue entries later, Ellie shares an introductory guide to the Kate Adie collection to assist future researchers, alongside images of some her personal highlights from the Collection.

This work was made possible through Archives Revealed, a partnership funding programme between The National Archives, the Pilgrim Trust and the Wolfson Foundation to ensure that significant archive collections, representing the lives and perspectives of all people across the UK, are made accessible to the public for research and enjoyment.

Introducing the Kate Adie Collection

War correspondent epaulette, camouflage hat and newspaper cartoon, in front of a laptop screen showing a clip of Kate Adie reporting on the Gulf War — “The Collection contains so many iconic pieces that capture a moment in time. We are looking here not only at a milestone in the evolution of broadcasting, reporting live by satellite from the Gulf War combat zone, but also a case study in pre-internet celebrity, where a television news reporter could achieve sufficient wider public recognition to become the subject of newspaper cartoons and crossword clues.” Ellie Clewlow, Project Cataloguing Archivist

Kate Adie is a British journalist who was the Chief News Correspondent of BBC television news from 1989 to 2003. She is particularly known for her reports from world events and conflicts, including the 1980 Iranian Embassy siege and the Tiananmen Square student protests in 1989, as well as wars in the Gulf and the former Yugoslavia.

Consisting of 240 boxes and nearly 1200 news clips, the Kate Adie Collection documents her life, from childhood and student life, through a career in local radio and broadcast journalism for the British Broadcasting Corporation (BBC), and then on into her work as an author, public speaker and supporter of charitable causes.

This isn’t a neat institutional archive with ordered series, but a personal collection that reflects a life being lived: a ticket for a Sunderland football game might sit in a correspondence file alongside a BBC assignment, notes for a speech at a charity event with the proceedings of a conference on journalism in conflict.

The Collection has been grouped by record type into the following sections:

A Audio-visual collection The majority of these recordings feature or relate to Kate Adie's work as a producer, reporter and broadcaster for BBC Radio Durham and Bristol, BBC television news, and contributions to other programmes, voiceovers and interviews. The remainder are recordings collected by her with relevance to her interests.
B Reporter’s notebooks Kate Adie's reporting notebooks contain background notes from news assignments and briefings, contacts, draft text for news reports, and questions to be asked in news conferences, as well as to-do lists. While some notebooks are taken up with a single event or theme, others contain a mixture of assignments in a given time period.
C Correspondence and engagements A broadly chronological series of files containing a mixture of correspondence, news cuttings, working papers, photographs and ephemera, documenting Kate Adie's employment by BBC, public speaking engagements, work as an author and writer, as well as support for charitable causes, and events attended.
D Books Materials relating to the research and writing, production and promotion of books written by Kate Adie: The Kindness of Strangers (2002), Corsets to Camouflage (2003), Nobody's Child (2005), Into Danger (2008), Fighting on the Home Front (2013).
E Speeches, talks, lectures and articles Kate Adie's notes and texts for public speaking engagements and articles written for publication.
F Subject files Material arranged thematically by subject matter.
G Awards and recognition Honorary degrees and fellowships, and professional accolades awarded to Kate Adie.
H Childhood and student life Materials relating to Kate Adie's childhood in Sunderland, her education at Sunderland Church High School, and her time as an undergraduate studying Scandinavian Studies at Newcastle University, during which time she was also involved with the National Youth Theatre and spent a year abroad in Sweden.
I Photographs and cuttings Photographs of or relating to Kate Adie, together with newspaper and magazine cuttings of articles about or referencing Kate Adie.
J Objects, ephemera and memorabilia Objects, ephemera and memorabilia collected by or given to Kate Adie and kept either for their relevance to her interests or as a memento of particular places or events.
K Personal library Books and other publications collected by, contributed to, or given to Kate Adie with relevance to her work and interests.

Browsing and searching

Reel to reel tape with typescipt script from the first day of BBC Radio Bristol — “The beginning of Kate Adie's career in local radio at the start of both BBC Radio Durham and BBC Radio Bristol fascinates me, both for the opportunities that came from being in at the start of something new, and for the contemporary views on what constituted women's work, something Kate's subsequent career did much to challenge.”

The Kate Adie Collection is listed according to archival standards, meaning a hierarchy of linked catalogue entries, from a top level description that describes the whole Collection down to specific container or item within the Collection.

Try browsing through the hierarchal tree of descriptions to get a sense of what is in the Collection and how the various parts fit together.

Go to the collection level description page and click on Ref No ‘KA’
This will take you to an expandable tree with the option to browse more detailed layers of description
Clicking ‘+’ will expand another level, and clicking on the title will take you into the full description
Clicking on the Ref No, will take you back to the tree.

Start searching the Collection for the particular themes you are interested in via the Special Collections catalogue home page: https://specialcollections.sunderland.ac.uk/default.aspx

If you want to narrow down your search, click on the Refine Search button or on the Search menu at the top of the page to open up the Advanced Search screen. This allows you to combine search terms and search for particular dates.

The general search on the catalogue home page is best for fuzzy searching, for example if you are not quite sure if a search term appears in the title or description. The advanced search is far more picky about which particular catalogue field a search term appears in.

Search tips

When searching, it’s worth remembering how a multi-level archive catalogue is structured – information is summarised up at the highest possible level and then not duplicated at lower levels. This means not every catalogue record in the Kate Adie Collection has the name Kate Adie. To confine a search to the Kate Adie Collection, use the advanced search feature. Enter KA* in the Ref No field together with your search term in the title or description field.
It has not yet been possible to catalogue every single item in the Collection in exhaustive detail. Some descriptions summarise a container or series of material. This means that if you are looking for something relating to a particular place, it is not as simple as typing a word into a search engine and all relevant information will appear in a neat list of results… although that’s not a bad place to start! It will take a bit of searching through the catalogue and then browsing through the records themselves. For example, if you are Interested in the US bombing of Libya in 1986, then it is worth looking through the notebooks, correspondence, and photograph albums for that date to see if there is relevant material that has not been picked out in the catalogue entry.
It is also worth thinking laterally in your search strategy. For example, if you are interested in material on the Tiananmen Square protests and massacre, try that as an initial search, but also look at material on either side of your search results, and also think about where and when the event took place – Beijing, China, 1989 – and use those as your next searches.
The search function can be picky about whole word searching. Use an asterisk at the end of your search term to keep your search broad. For example, if you are not sure if the catalogue entry might be Bosnia or Bosnian, try Bosnia* to catch both.

It may also be helpful to be aware of cataloguing conventions we have used:

We have used Wikipedia titles or common Google search terms for names and events where available.
We have expanded most abbreviations, with the exception of UK for United Kingdom, USA for the United States of America, and Soviet Union for the USSR. First World War and Second World War have been used in preference to World War One and World War Two. The exception is where these terms form part of the title of a published work.
We have catalogued names as found in the document or object, but put later names or title in brackets afterwards, e.g. Upper Volta (Burkina Faso).
Date spans are inclusive, and then contextualised with further information, e.g. 1945 – 2002. Predominantly 1983 - 2002, but also includes three items from 1945.

Visiting and using the Collection

Due to the unique character of the material in our collections, most items from the Kate Adie Collection must be viewed in the Special Collections Reading Room. The exceptions to this are the collection of nearly 1200 BBC television news clips and programmes and the thematic collections of digitised material that are available to view remotely.

Please see our policies for further information on the management of our collections and access arrangements.

Please contact us to arrange an appointment as access hours are restricted. You can e-mail us at specialcollections@sunderland.ac.uk or write to us at Special Collections, Murray Health, University of Sunderland, Chester Road, Sunderland, SR1 3SD.

“I have really enjoyed finding related elements across the Collection. Piecing together notebooks with film clips, as well as objects, fan letters and news cuttings not only brings to life the process of reporting and the experience of being in a place, but also give a sense of how news was being received.”

Useful resources

This guide assumes that you have some familiarity with archives or special collections and how to navigate and use them. If you would welcome a refresher, or you are working with a group for whom this is all new, here are a few links to external resources that we have found useful:

(from the National Archives)

What are archives https://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/help-with-your-research/start-here/what-are-archives/
How to use archives https://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/help-with-your-research/start-here/how-to-use-archives/
Searchable catalogue of records in the National Archives and +2500 other archives https://discovery.nationalarchives.gov.uk/

(from Jisc Archives hub)

Beginners guide https://archiveshub.jisc.ac.uk/guides/usingarchives/
Searchable descriptions from c.400 institutions in the UK https://archiveshub.jisc.ac.uk/

University of Hull https://libguides.hull.ac.uk/archives-basics (skills guide introducing archives, basic concepts, and how to use archives in research)

University of Bristol https://bristol.libguides.com/finding-archives/introduction (locating, visiting and using archives, and rights management)

Kings College Cambridge https://www.kings.cam.ac.uk/archive-centre/introduction-to-archives (introduction to archives for school and college students)

“I will end my final blog post in the place I started my first, with this box. When someone asks me to describe the Kate Adie Collection, this is the image I turn to. It encapsulates a life: the attachment to Sunderland, the career with the BBC, the connection to world events, conflicts and the military, and professional recognition. All together in one box.”

Recent Posts

And finally...

Back in March 2024, our Project Cataloguing Archivist, Ellie Clewlow, published a blog post giving her first impressions of the Kate Adie Collection. One year on and 240 boxes, 1200 film clips and 2350 catalogue entries later, Ellie shares an introductory guide to the Kate Adie collection to assist future researchers, alongside images of some her personal highlights from the Collection.This work was made possible through Archives Revealed, a partnership funding programme between The National Archives, the Pilgrim Trust and the Wolfson Foundation to ensure that significant archive collections, representing the lives and perspectives of all people across the UK, are made accessible to the public for research and enjoyment.Introducing the Kate Adie Collection“The Collection contains so many iconic pieces that capture a moment in time. We are looking here not only at a milestone in the evolution of broadcasting, reporting live by satellite from the Gulf War combat zone, but also a case study in pre-internet celebrity, where a television news reporter could achieve sufficient wider public recognition to become the subject of newspaper cartoons and crossword clues.” Ellie Clewlow, Project Cataloguing ArchivistKate Adie is a British journalist who was the Chief News Correspondent of BBC television news from 1989 to 2003. She is particularly known for her reports from world events and conflicts, including the 1980 Iranian Embassy siege and the Tiananmen Square student protests in 1989, as well as wars in the Gulf and the former Yugoslavia. Consisting of 240 boxes and nearly 1200 news clips, the Kate Adie Collection documents her life, from childhood and student life, through a career in local radio and broadcast journalism for the British Broadcasting Corporation (BBC), and then on into her work as an author, public speaker and supporter of charitable causes. This isn’t a neat institutional archive with ordered series, but a personal collection that reflects a life being lived: a ticket for a Sunderland football game might sit in a correspondence file alongside a BBC assignment, notes for a speech at a charity event with the proceedings of a conference on journalism in conflict. The Collection has been grouped by record type into the following sections:A Audio-visual collection The majority of these recordings feature or relate to Kate Adie's work as a producer, reporter and broadcaster for BBC Radio Durham and Bristol, BBC television news, and contributions to other programmes, voiceovers and interviews. The remainder are recordings collected by her with relevance to her interests.B Reporter’s notebooks Kate Adie's reporting notebooks contain background notes from news assignments and briefings, contacts, draft text for news reports, and questions to be asked in news conferences, as well as to-do lists. While some notebooks are taken up with a single event or theme, others contain a mixture of assignments in a given time period.C Correspondence and engagements A broadly chronological series of files containing a mixture of correspondence, news cuttings, working papers, photographs and ephemera, documenting Kate Adie's employment by BBC, public speaking engagements, work as an author and writer, as well as support for charitable causes, and events attended.D Books Materials relating to the research and writing, production and promotion of books written by Kate Adie: The Kindness of Strangers (2002), Corsets to Camouflage (2003), Nobody's Child (2005), Into Danger (2008), Fighting on the Home Front (2013). E Speeches, talks, lectures and articles Kate Adie's notes and texts for public speaking engagements and articles written for publication. F Subject files Material arranged thematically by subject matter. G Awards and recognition Honorary degrees and fellowships, and professional accolades awarded to Kate Adie. H Childhood and student life Materials relating to Kate Adie's childhood in Sunderland, her education at Sunderland Church High School, and her time as an undergraduate studying Scandinavian Studies at Newcastle University, during which time she was also involved with the National Youth Theatre and spent a year abroad in Sweden.I Photographs and cuttings Photographs of or relating to Kate Adie, together with newspaper and magazine cuttings of articles about or referencing Kate Adie. J Objects, ephemera and memorabilia Objects, ephemera and memorabilia collected by or given to Kate Adie and kept either for their relevance to her interests or as a memento of particular places or events.K Personal library Books and other publications collected by, contributed to, or given to Kate Adie with relevance to her work and interests.Browsing and searching“The beginning of Kate Adie's career in local radio at the start of both BBC Radio Durham and BBC Radio Bristol fascinates me, both for the opportunities that came from being in at the start of something new, and for the contemporary views on what constituted women's work, something Kate's subsequent career did much to challenge.”The Kate Adie Collection is listed according to archival standards, meaning a hierarchy of linked catalogue entries, from a top level description that describes the whole Collection down to specific container or item within the Collection. Try browsing through the hierarchal tree of descriptions to get a sense of what is in the Collection and how the various parts fit together.Go to the collection level description page and click on Ref No ‘KA’ This will take you to an expandable tree with the option to browse more detailed layers of descriptionClicking ‘+’ will expand another level, and clicking on the title will take you into the full descriptionClicking on the Ref No, will take you back to the tree.Start searching the Collection for the particular themes you are interested in via the Special Collections catalogue home page: https://specialcollections.sunderland.ac.uk/default.aspx If you want to narrow down your search, click on the Refine Search button or on the Search menu at the top of the page to open up the Advanced Search screen. This allows you to combine search terms and search for particular dates.The general search on the catalogue home page is best for fuzzy searching, for example if you are not quite sure if a search term appears in the title or description. The advanced search is far more picky about which particular catalogue field a search term appears in.Search tipsWhen searching, it’s worth remembering how a multi-level archive catalogue is structured – information is summarised up at the highest possible level and then not duplicated at lower levels. This means not every catalogue record in the Kate Adie Collection has the name Kate Adie. To confine a search to the Kate Adie Collection, use the advanced search feature. Enter KA* in the Ref No field together with your search term in the title or description field.It has not yet been possible to catalogue every single item in the Collection in exhaustive detail. Some descriptions summarise a container or series of material. This means that if you are looking for something relating to a particular place, it is not as simple as typing a word into a search engine and all relevant information will appear in a neat list of results… although that’s not a bad place to start! It will take a bit of searching through the catalogue and then browsing through the records themselves. For example, if you are Interested in the US bombing of Libya in 1986, then it is worth looking through the notebooks, correspondence, and photograph albums for that date to see if there is relevant material that has not been picked out in the catalogue entry. It is also worth thinking laterally in your search strategy. For example, if you are interested in material on the Tiananmen Square protests and massacre, try that as an initial search, but also look at material on either side of your search results, and also think about where and when the event took place – Beijing, China, 1989 – and use those as your next searches.The search function can be picky about whole word searching. Use an asterisk at the end of your search term to keep your search broad. For example, if you are not sure if the catalogue entry might be Bosnia or Bosnian, try Bosnia* to catch both.It may also be helpful to be aware of cataloguing conventions we have used:We have used Wikipedia titles or common Google search terms for names and events where available. We have expanded most abbreviations, with the exception of UK for United Kingdom, USA for the United States of America, and Soviet Union for the USSR. First World War and Second World War have been used in preference to World War One and World War Two. The exception is where these terms form part of the title of a published work.We have catalogued names as found in the document or object, but put later names or title in brackets afterwards, e.g. Upper Volta (Burkina Faso).Date spans are inclusive, and then contextualised with further information, e.g. 1945 – 2002. Predominantly 1983 - 2002, but also includes three items from 1945.Visiting and using the CollectionDue to the unique character of the material in our collections, most items from the Kate Adie Collection must be viewed in the Special Collections Reading Room. The exceptions to this are the collection of nearly 1200 BBC television news clips and programmes and the thematic collections of digitised material that are available to view remotely.Please see our policies for further information on the management of our collections and access arrangements.Please contact us to arrange an appointment as access hours are restricted. You can e-mail us at specialcollections@sunderland.ac.uk or write to us at Special Collections, Murray Health, University of Sunderland, Chester Road, Sunderland, SR1 3SD.“I have really enjoyed finding related elements across the Collection. Piecing together notebooks with film clips, as well as objects, fan letters and news cuttings not only brings to life the process of reporting and the experience of being in a place, but also give a sense of how news was being received.” Useful resourcesThis guide assumes that you have some familiarity with archives or special collections and how to navigate and use them. If you would welcome a refresher, or you are working with a group for whom this is all new, here are a few links to external resources that we have found useful:(from the National Archives)What are archives https://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/help-with-your-research/start-here/what-are-archives/ How to use archives https://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/help-with-your-research/start-here/how-to-use-archives/ Searchable catalogue of records in the National Archives and +2500 other archives https://discovery.nationalarchives.gov.uk/(from Jisc Archives hub)Beginners guide https://archiveshub.jisc.ac.uk/guides/usingarchives/Searchable descriptions from c.400 institutions in the UK https://archiveshub.jisc.ac.uk/ University of Hull https://libguides.hull.ac.uk/archives-basics (skills guide introducing archives, basic concepts, and how to use archives in research)University of Bristol https://bristol.libguides.com/finding-archives/introduction (locating, visiting and using archives, and rights management)Kings College Cambridge https://www.kings.cam.ac.uk/archive-centre/introduction-to-archives (introduction to archives for school and college students) “I will end my final blog post in the place I started my first, with this box. When someone asks me to describe the Kate Adie Collection, this is the image I turn to. It encapsulates a life: the attachment to Sunderland, the career with the BBC, the connection to world events, conflicts and the military, and professional recognition. All together in one box.”...

UK Miners' Strike 1984-85

As I reach the midway point of my year cataloguing the Kate Adie collection, my mind is turning to the ways in which we can engage people with its contents. Having a catalogue is the starting point for making the collection accessible and navigable, but there are further steps we want to take. One of these steps is to publish small thematic digital packages of material that give you a taste of what is here and invite further exploration. The first digital package that we have put together relates to the UK miners’ strike 1984 – 1985, when around three-quarters of the country's 187,000 miners went on strike to oppose expected pit closures and job losses. It feels particularly appropriate to start with this in the 40th anniversary year of the strike, using material from a collection that is located in the North East of England where memories of mining and of the strike are so strong. [Click on the thumbnails below to open up individual images and video clips OR access a slideshow of all images and clips here] The Kate Adie collection is particularly broad in its subject matter. While Kate Adie is popularly known for reporting on disasters and conflicts around the world, she was a staff reporter for BBC news, covering whatever was assigned. This is evident in her reporter’s notebooks where a report on the miners’ strike sits next to a report on the summer holiday of the Prime Minister, Margaret Thatcher. We get a glimpse of the news gathering and reporting process, seeing rough notes and multiple drafts of reports in the notebooks. You’ll see that the text for each report is written in thin columns. Each line when read out would be one second in length, enabling the length of the report to be precisely timed. Then we see those drafts refined into a television news report. It’s worth noting the serendipitous survival of some material, with a local news cutting about Arthur Scargill probably being kept because of the news item about Kate Adie on the reverse. The initial decision to call a national strike without a national ballot was controversial and later ruled illegal. The striking mineworkers did receive support from some other workers, notably from the railwaymen, but the miners' eventual defeat marked a significant weakening in the power of the trade union movement. The dispute was a bitter one, characterised by divisions between those striking and those working, and sometimes violent clashes between pickets and police. Even the Queen was considered to have offered her view on the dispute. Disputes arising from potential pit closures and job losses were not confined to the UK. These materials are by no means the whole story of the miners' strike, but they offer a starting point for exploring key themes from one of the major UK labour disputes in the latter part of the twentieth century through contemporary reports. We hope to develop this package further in future by adding material from a different perspective, that of our mining collections. Acknowledgements: Items 1 and 5 are reproduced courtesy of the Sunderland Echo. Items 4, 7-10 and 12 are copyright of the BBC. Find out more: If you are interested in knowing more about the Kate Adie collection or would like to discuss a future visit, please contact us: specialcollections@sunderland.ac.uk About the miners’ strike at the BBC National Coal Mining Museum miners’ strike resource See Mike Figgis’ film of the Battle of Orgreave, together with a selection of photographs taken during the 1984 North East miners’ strike including photos of pickets at Monkwearmouth and Easington collieries, marches and demonstrations in Sunderland and everyday family life at the Northern Gallery for Contemporary Art About Archives Revealed, a partnership funding programme between The National Archives, the Pilgrim Trust and the Wolfson Foundation to ensure that significant archive collections, representing the lives and perspectives of all people across the UK, are made accessible to the public for research and enjoyment. ...

Special Collections at Sunderland History Fair 2024

The Special Collections team at the University of Sunderland Library had a great day at Sunderland History Fair (18th May 2024), showing items from our NEEMARC mining archive, and giving a preview of the Kate Adie Collection, currently being catalogued. Events like this give a fascinating picture of the rich life of our city through the years. Suddenly the groups of people working away all year round to conserve their slice of history for current and future generations all come together to form a fantastic mosaic showing how life has been lived here right up to our own time. There is so much to discover talking to the stall holders of so many groups, exchanging information and welcoming visitors to our own stall. Many visitors over the years have talked to us about their mining ancestors, their interest in their local area, their research into what life was like for those living where we now live, but in a different time. Perhaps one day a future generation will be talking about what life was like for us! We have attended local history events since the NEEMARC Collection (North East England Mining Archive and Research Centre), funded by a Heritage Lottery award, was set up in 2007. This collection contains records from The National Union of Mineworkers Durham Area (NUM), The North of England Institute of Mining and Mechanical Engineers (NEIMME) and the Durham branch of the National Association of Colliery Overmen, Deputies and Shotfirers (NACODS). The main aim of the project is to preserve and catalogue the primary archival material within the NEEMARC collections and to make the items accessible to a wide range of users. This is a time of anniversaries for our mining history, particularly the miners' strikes of the 1970s and 1980s and the pit closures, Wearmouth being the last in the region in December 1993. The mining industry and mining communities are not forgotten; their stories are still told and heard through families and local communities and through the work of the groups who curate their history and who gather at events like the Sunderland History Fair. The current exhibition at the Laing Art Gallery in Newcastle acknowledges the place of coal in its current Turner exhibition (Turner: Art, Industry & Nostalgia ), quoting John Kippin referring to the tensions between the tragic loss of life and injuries in the industry and the understandable nostalgia for the strong communities it produced. ...

“This is Kate Adie, BBC news…”

…those words in THAT voice are part of the soundtrack of my life. Watching the television news from the 1980s through to the 2000s, I would see Kate Adie reporting from around the world, her presence underlining the seriousness of a situation and her words helping to make sense of it. Now I am engaging with Kate Adie’s work afresh, as I begin the process of cataloguing her archive, which is held in her hometown at the University of Sunderland. If you haven’t encountered her work, Kate Adie is a British journalist who was the Chief News Correspondent of BBC TV news from 1989 to 2003. She is particularly known for her reports from disasters and conflicts, including the 1980 Iranian Embassy siege and the Tiananmen Square student protests in 1989, as well as wars in the Gulf and the former Yugoslavia. Her reputation for reporting from areas of conflict also permeated broader public consciousness, evidenced in the collection by a number of newspaper cartoons riffing on the idea that having Kate Adie turn up was a signal that a situation was a serious one. The first thing that struck me about the Kate Adie collection is its breadth. There are over 180 boxes of analogue and digital recordings, photographs, correspondence, souvenirs, objects, and news cuttings; all with a global span, from China to Libya, India to Bosnia, and Sunderland, always back to Sunderland. Through the records of one person’s career, we observe not only worldwide events, but the changing role of women in journalism and the evolution of news coverage, from a radio car in Durham to a mobile satellite dish delivering live links in a 24/7 news cycle. This isn’t a neat institutional archive with ordered series, but a personal collection that reflects a life being lived: a ticket for a Sunderland football game might sit alongside a BBC assignment, notes for a speech at a charity event with the proceedings of a conference on journalism in conflict. That’s part of the joy of this particular archive, but also a professional challenge as I work to make it navigable by others. The starting point, and my main focus for the year ahead, is to produce a catalogue that makes the collection accessible. It’s a piece of work made possible through Archives Revealed, a partnership funding programme between The National Archives, the Pilgrim Trust and the Wolfson Foundation to ensure that significant archive collections, representing the lives and perspectives of all people across the UK, are made accessible to the public for research and enjoyment. Two months into the project and I can already see that there is a wealth of material that will be of interest to students and staff here in the University, as well as to local communities in Sunderland, and to groups, such as veterans’ associations, further afield. We’re also planning digital packages of material that support engagement with the richness of the collection. Drawing upon Kate Adie’s reporting from Libya, for example, we have the opportunity to draw together recordings of her news reports and the handwritten notes on which they were based, together with souvenirs and artefacts collected during her time on assignment. We have the contemporary reaction to that reporting from the Government, newspapers and public, as well as Kate Adie’s later reflections in speeches and public lectures on the experience of reporting conflict, ideas of impartiality, and the practice of journalism. I am really excited about the challenge ahead. Do check back over the coming months for updates on the progress of the project and as I share a few of my personal highlights. If you are interested in knowing more about the Kate Adie collection or would like to discuss a future visit, please contact us: specialcollections@sunderland.ac.uk. ...