Performing Arts and Music blog

I hope you’re settling into the academic year well.

Through the Library we have lots of lovely resources to help you with your studies and research. An excellent place to start is to explore our Library Essentials Guide. 

Here you can find all the basics about the library including things like booking yourself onto a library tour to explore our facilities, how to do printing, learning how to use books, ebooks and journals, and so much more. 

How about sitting down with a cuppa and reading up on all we have to get you off to a good start for this academic year. 

Welcome - I’m Suzie Williams and I am your Academic Liaison Librarian.

I work with your lecturers to ensure we have the right resources for you in the University Library (in print and online) and help you to develop the skills to use these resources when doing research for your assignments.

We have lots of help and support available to you whatever your experience has been of using libraries elsewhere.

Here are 3 things you can do to get started with using the library.

• Pop into our library buildings to have a look around to explore our great study spaces. Most of the print resources for your subjects are in the Library@DavidGoldman and St Peter's Library so I recommend you start exploring there.
• Book yourself onto a library tour with one of our friendly staff/
• Explore your Library Subject Guide, specially designed for you - Art and Design Library Subject Guide.

I am looking forward to meeting you - do say hello if you see me on campus!

Through our Sage Catalyst subscription, we have access to a range of books on research methods.

Log in to Sage Catalyst and select 'Research Methods and Evaluation'.

Titles include:

• An adventure in statistics
• Evaluating research
• How to do your research project
• Information visualisation
• Introduction to research methods
• Research design
• Visual methodologies
• and so many more

Head online, login and happy reading!

Through our Sage Catalyst subscription, we have access to a range of ebooks on study skills.

Titles include:

• Your Guide to Wellbeing at University
• The Essential Guide to Building Your Argument
• From Wellbeing to Welldoing
• Be a Brilliant Dyslexic Student
• Essential Study Skills
• Productivity and Publishing
• How to Think
• Create Your Research Poster
• and much more....

Head online, login and get reading!

Pop along to the Library@DavidGoldman next time you're on campus, and explore the latest issue of the One Dance magazine which has a special focus on sustainability.

Articles in this issue include:

• A sustainable future for dance
• Strengthening our creative climate action
• Reviving a classic with English National Ballet Swan Lake-in-the-round's
• Neurodiversity in the studio
• Parenthood and dance
• Building dance audiences
• Wellbeing for dancers

This magazine is reference use, ie to use in the library and not borrow to take home, but you can consult it any time during the opening times of Library@DavidGoldman. 

The Journal of Performance and Mindfulness is freely available online through the University of Huddersfield.

Volume 6, issue 1 (2024) is now out and includes the following articles:

• Dancing presence and awareness: ‘Khaita – Joyful Dances’ as a mindfulness practice.
• Cosmic Drift – braiding Nicholas Nunez’s contemplative tools with the Situationists’ derive.

The University of Sunderland Library Services web site brings you a new feature called 'Collections', which replaces our monthly new book lists for all subject areas.

Previously, our new book lists have been included within our Library Reading Lists web page, and have been a way to showcase new title purchases over the academic year. These reading lists which were updated monthly reflected the continuing development of our library collections as subject areas evolve.

Collections are embedded into our Library Search, which brings with it new features that will prove useful to students and staff looking to make use of our latest titles, including the ability to pin both the collection and individual books to your 'My Favourites' within your library account.

New book collections are continuously updated as new titles are purchased, meaning you are able to view our latest titles as soon as they are available. We hope that you find Collections a useful addition to our library services.

Visit this link to access the New Books Collection for the Faculty of Arts and Creative Industries now. 

The Library subscribes to two print dance magazines which we recommend you explore. 

We have listed them below together with titles of recent articles in each one:

Animated

• Making the case for movement and dance
• A vibrant tapestry of inclusion
• Down to earth and straight up
• Little big dance: co-creating dance with early years
• More than a luxurious hobby: dance's value in the crisis of care

OneDance 

• Career development for all dancers
• Careers in focus: Dance Science
• The pregnant dancer
• The importance of joy by popping for Parkinsons'
• Education through dance

Both these magazines are located in the Library@DavidGoldman on our St Peter's campus. If you're making a special trip to use these magazines, check the Library's opening times first!

Are you a student interested in developing your skills in academic writing, critical reflection, managing stress and much more?

Are you a member of academic staff wanting to develop your module reading lists to include resources on study skills?

Explore our new Study Skills book collection which pulls together books on many different aspects of study skills.

The Shakespeare database is an up-to-date textual resource and includes information even on the latest feature films that have yet to be broadcast on non-subscription channels available on Box of Broadcasts such as Spielberg’s West Side Story (a Disney exclusive) and Joel Coen’s Macbeth (currently streaming only on Apple TV).

It has more than 10,000 entries! The resource includes websites, podcasts, features films, TV and radio broadcasts and much more, some of the latest additions include an episode of the BBC’s Father Brown series that quotes liberally from Much Ado About Nothing; a video recording of an interview with Simon Russell Beale about his Shakespearean roles; a podcast devoted to love of the Bard from a teenager’s point of view; a radio documentary about Lady Macbeth; an uncut production of Macbeth shot entirely in close-up using iPhones; a DVD release of The Winter’s Tale filmed at The Globe; and much more.

You can access it for free online.

[Based on text provided with permission by Learning on Screen]