Health Databases
Databases contain journal articles and other types of information such as conference papers and book chapters. They usually have specialised search functions so you can search very specifically for your topic.
The core resources for your subjects are listed on this page.
- PsycARTICLES
PsycArticles, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a definitive source of full text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. It contains articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA), its imprint the Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF), and from allied organizations including the Canadian Psychological Association and the Hogrefe Publishing Group. It includes all journal articles, book reviews, letters to the editor, and errata from each journal. Coverage spans 1894 to the present and nearly all APA journals go back to Volume 1, Issue 1. APA PsycArticles is indexed with controlled vocabulary from APA's Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms. - Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new windowLarge full text psychology database offering full text coverage for nearly 400 journals and covers topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry and psychology, mental processes, counselling, and observational and experimental methods.
- CINAHL Ultimate
CINAHL Ultimate offers a comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text access for more than 600 journals indexed in CINAHL Ultimate. This authoritative file contains full text for many journals relevant to students and practitioners in the field of Health, Social Care and Nursing specialties and includes quick lessons, evidence-based care sheets, CEU modules and research instruments.
- MEDLINE
MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and the capability to search citations from over 5,400 current biomedical journals.
- PubMed
Key for medical, biomedical and other, life-sciences related journal articles. Includes citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals. Publicly available database. Links to full text may not check Library subscriptions – use Library Search to check for full text access.
- Health Research Premium Collection
The Health Research Premium Collection includes a broad collection of journals, evidence-based resources, full-text dissertations and health and medical databases. This is the UK academic collection.
Partner Staff Access
Log in directly on the Proquest website. Click on ‘Login through your Library’ and choose ‘Institutional Login'. - Science Direct This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect has over 18,000 full-text Elsevier journals , plus abstracts and covers such topics as physical sciences and engineering, life sciences, health sciences, and social sciences and humanities.
Partner Staff Access
Log in directly on the Science Direct website. Choose ‘Sign in via Organization’. - Embase
Embase is a major biomedical and pharmaceutical database indexing over 3,500 international journals. EMBASE is one of the most widely used biomedical and pharmaceutical databases because of its currency and in-depth indexing. Frequent updates allow access to the latest medical and pharmacological trends.