Library Special Collections serve as an important resource for learning and research, actively supporting University and Library values and ambitions. Key components such as preservation, access, promotion and collaboration are essential to fostering inclusive engagement and sustained interest with Special Collections, both academically and within the local community, as well as on national and international levels.
Special Collections actively strive to: create an academic environment that integrates research, teaching and learning, collaborates with local communities through outreach programmes, contributes to the preservation of local heritage and engages with a range of diverse audiences across various age groups. Nationally, they focus on preserving and providing access to collections of significant relevance.
Our collections have both breadth and richness of content that provide great scope for original research. They comprise: original historical records, photographs, letters, cartoons and maps, video, pictures, objects, rare books and other printed works.
Special Collections holds records and objects which relate to and tell us about particular organisations, people and times. We received Heritage Lottery Funding to set up the facilities, and access by appointment is available to university staff, students and the public.
You can search our Special Collections Library Catalogue to view items within the collections or visit our website to read more about our collections
If you are interested in visiting any of our collections please contact us to arrange an appointment as access hours are restricted. You can contact us on Library Talk, e-mail us at collections.murray@sunderland.ac.uk or write to us at Special Collections, Murray Library, Murray Health Building, University of Sunderland, Chester Road, Sunderland, SR1 3SD.
We are in the process of developing an exciting new Digital Archive which will provide access to our collections online. This long term project with content being regularly added.
