Our buildings are open to current University of Sunderland students who are eligible for a campus card, offering a range of study spaces, print collections, and IT facilities. Although our print collections are split across our different buildings by subject, you can choose to use the study spaces and IT facilities in any of our buildings. The main floor study areas and PC clusters can be used on a first-come, first-served basis. If you would prefer to study in a private room, we offer a variety of different study rooms and booths across our buildings which must be booked in advance. You will need to use your campus card to use the library gates.
Opening hours
We publish our opening hours on our website, up to a year in advance. Our opening hours vary across the academic year, with extended hours during most of the year.
- Opening hours See our building and our helpdesk hours on our website.
Our spaces
Location
St. Peter's Library is found inside the Prospect Building at the Sir Tom Cowie Campus at St. Peter's. Enjoy bright and airy study spaces with views across the River Wear.
Our print collections here include Exhibition Catalogues, Arts, Architecture, Sculpture, Graphic Arts, Painting, Printmaking, Media, Literature, Education, Social Sciences, Languages, Computing, Engineering, Business, Law, and Tourism.
Address: The Prospect Building, The Sir Tom Cowie Campus at St. Peter's, Sunderland, SR6 0DD
- St. Peter's Library interactive map An interactive map of St. Peter's Library showing the floor layout, collections, learning spaces, helpdesks, IT facilities, and building services.
- Campus maps Download campus maps in .pdf format.
- Travel information Information on getting here and where to park.
Study spaces
- Book a study room Book a study room through our online booking system. These study rooms are for student use and cannot be booked by staff.
Location
Library@DavidGoldman is found inside the David Goldman Technology Centre at the Sir Tom Cowie Campus at St. Peter's. Enjoy calm and relaxing study spaces on the top floor, with views of University square.
Our print collections here include Photography, Computer Art, Film, Video, Music, Performing Arts, Literature, and History.
Address: The David Goldman Technology Centre, The Sir Tom Cowie Campus at St. Peter's, Sunderland, SR6 0DD
- Library@DavidGoldman interactive map An interactive map of Library@DavidGoldman showing the floor layout, collections, learning spaces, IT facilities, and building services.
- Campus maps Download campus maps in .pdf format.
- Travel information Information on getting here and where to park.
Study spaces
- Book a study room Book a study room through our online booking system. These study rooms are for student use and cannot be booked by staff.
Location
Library@Murray is found on the lower level of the Murray Building at City Campus. Enjoy individual study spaces with views of University Park and the University campus.
Our print collections here include Medicine, Health, Natural Sciences, Sport Science, Nursing, Pharmacy, Psychology, Counselling, and Social Sciences.
Address: The Murray Library, Chester Road, Sunderland, SR1 3SD
- Library@Murray interactive map An interactive map of St. Peter's Library showing the floor layout, collections, learning spaces, helpdesks, IT facilities, and building services.
- Campus maps Download campus maps in .pdf format.
- Travel information Information on getting here and where to park.
Study spaces
- Book a study room Book a study room through our online booking system. These study rooms are for student use and cannot be booked by staff.
Location
Library@Pasteur is found on the ground floor of the Pasteur Building at City Campus. Enjoy a variety of study spaces including individual desks, group spaces, and pods with views of the University campus.
There are no print collections in this space.
Address: Pasteur Building, Sciences Complex, Sunderland, SR1 3SD
- Campus maps Download campus maps in .pdf format.
- Travel information Information on getting here and where to park.
Study spaces
- Book a study room Book a study room through our online booking system. These study rooms are for student use and cannot be booked by staff.
Visiting other university libraries
There may be times when you want to visit other academic libraries - they may be easier for you to get to from your home address, for example. If you are registered on an eligible programme and you have no overdue items or outstanding library charges with us, you can join the SCONUL Access scheme which allows you to make use of other academic libraries as a guest. Click the link below to visit the SCONUL website and submit your application.
- SCONUL Access SCONUL Access is a scheme which allows many university library users to use study spaces or books and journals at other libraries which belong to the scheme. Some library users may be able to borrow print books from other libraries too. Click here to find out more about the scheme, who is eligible, and how it works.