Books & eBooks
Books are good for information that isn't changing quickly, and are the best place to go when looking for information on an unfamiliar concept. Textbooks are the best place for learning the fundamentals of a subject.
Books and eBooks in the collection reflect titles on your Library Reading Lists but also offer titles for wider reading. Use Library Search (link below) for wider reading by searching for specific titles, author names or keywords on the subject you're looking for. Print books for School of Medicine subjects are located in Library@Murray.
The books you see on the shelves at Library@Murray are only a small part of the collection. Most of our titles are available online.
Library Search
Search for books, journal articles and more.
eBook Collections for Medicine
Explore all tabs in this section to find out about the following eBook collections for Medicine through the University Library:
- ClinicalKey Student
- AccessMedicine
- LWW Health Library
- Fast Facts
All eBooks within these collections can be found using Library Search, or you can access each platform and search directly. View the tab for each collection to find out more about content and additional features available.
- ClinicalKey Student Medical
ClinicalKey Student are online collections of high-quality eBook and eTextbooks from the publisher Elsevier. Each collection is tailored to a specific health subject.
Try these instructions if you're having problems signing into ClinicalKey Student
ClinicalKey Student also contains videos and images. You can search the full text of all the titles at once, add images to PowerPoint slides, create flashcards, and read the book in various fonts and colours once you Launch the Bookshelf. You can also have the book read to you using the audio button in Bookshelf function. You can download the “Bookshelf” app where you can read offline on-the-go on your mobile device for 365 days.
Watch the videos below for information on how to log in to ClinicalKey and an overview of some of the key features.
University of Sunderland Library subscribes to four ClinicalKey collections: Medical, Nursing, Midwifery and Physiotherapy:
- ClinicalKey Student Midwifery
ClinicalKey Student are online collections of high-quality, eBook and eTextbooks from the publisher Elsevier. Each collection is tailored to a specific health subject.
- ClinicalKey Student Nursing
ClinicalKey Student are online collections of high-quality, eBook and eTextbooks from the publisher Elsevier. Each collection is tailored to a specific health subject.
- ClinicalKey Student Physiotherapy
ClinicalKey Student are online collections of high-quality, eBook and eTextbooks from the publisher Elsevier. Each collection is tailored to a specific health subject.
- Access Medicine
AccessMedicine is an online medical resource incorporating textbooks, examination and procedural videos, a diagnosis tool, practice guidelines, an integrated drug database and cases files.
You can create a Free MYAccess Profile by clicking on the Sign In option on the AccessMedicine homepage.
The new "Access" app also gives you mobile access to these resources.
To ensure the APP syncs properly and you get free access follow the order:
- First create an account (watch the how-to video below)
- THEN use that account to login to the new Access app here: [iOS and Android].
How to download the AccessMedicine app:
A short video tour of the key features and contents of AccessMedicine:
- LWW Health Library Medical Education
LWW International Premium Basic Sciences collection is an interactive resource providing access to reference, ebooks and textbooks, videos, images, case-studies and quizzes. Our subscription includes access to the Medical Education, Occupational Therapy, Physical Therapy and Pharmacy collections.
This video has instructions for making a personal account within LWW Health Library and guidance on how to use the collection:
University of Sunderland Library subscribes to four ClinicalKey collections: International Premium Basic Sciences (once known as Medical Education), Occupational Therapy, Pharmacy and Physical Therapy.
- LWW Health Library Occupational Therapy
LWW Health Library is an interactive resource providing access to reference, ebooks and textbooks, videos, images, case-studies and quizzes. Our subscription includes access to the Occupational Therapy, Physical Therapy, Pharmacy and Medical Education collections.
- LWW Health Library Pharmacy
LWW Health Library is an interactive resource providing access to reference, ebooks and textbooks, videos, images, case-studies and quizzes. Our subscription includes access to the Occupational Therapy, Physical Therapy, Pharmacy and Medical Education collections.
- LWW Health Library Physical Therapy
LWW Health Library is an interactive resource providing access to reference, ebooks and textbooks, videos, images, case-studies and quizzes. Our subscription includes access to the Occupational Therapy, Physical Therapy, Pharmacy and Medical Education collections.
Fast Facts are a collection of more than 100 eBooks covering multiple topics across the field of medicine. Examples include: oncology, gynecology, endocrinology, chemotherapy and psychiatry.
Find the eBooks by:
- Searching for Fast Facts in Library Search,
- or by visiting the Fast Facts website
To read the title just click on PDF and it will be downloaded onto your device.
The collection also includes Infographic Summary Sheets for patients and healthcare professionals.
Find Books and eBooks
Explore the tabs in this section to find out how to find print books in the Library as well as how to search for books and eBooks using Library Search
Explore all tabs in this section to find out how to find print books in the Library as well as how to search for ebooks.
View new books for all Health Subjects
Your librarians have purchased a number of books for Medicine over the last year which you can view in our New Books Collection for all Health Science and Wellbeing subjects:
- Health Sciences & Wellbeing New Books Collection of new books purchased for Health Sciences & Wellbeing this academic year
