Medical Literature Databases
The core medical databases for Medicine are listed on this page.
Note: many of the links will take you to a 'landing page' for the database within Library Search. Click the link to the database under 'View Online' to connect to the database.
All of the databases have Full Text articles - however, if you find an article you can not access, copy and paste the title into Library Search to check our subscriptions. If the article is not part of our subscriptions you can request an Inter-Library Loan, click the Inter-Library Loans tab to find out how to do this.
- PubMed
Medicine and Biomedical
Key for medical, biomedical and other, life-sciences related journal articles. Includes citations from MEDLINE (see below) and other life science journals. Free to access database, if unable to access full text - copy and paste the title of the article into Library Search to check our subscriptions.
Introduction to PubMed
PubMed Quick-Start Guides
- PubMed Orientation Quick-start guide
- PubMed - how to add an additional filter Quick-start guide
- PubMed - exporting your results Quick-start guide
- PubMed - saving and re-running your searches Quick-start guide
- PubMed - saving articles you find in PubMed into PubMed's "My Dashboard"Quick-start guide
- MEDLINE (EBSCO)Medicine and Biomedical
MEDLINE is a key bibliographic database for medical literature with over 25 million references to journal articles in life sciences, with a focus on biomedicine. Full Text available - if unable to access full text, copy and paste the title of the article into Library Search to check our subscriptions.
- MEDLINE (Ovid)
MEDLINE on the Ovid platform is an authoritative bibliographic database containing citations and abstracts for biomedical and health journals used by health care professionals, nurses, clinicians and researchers. MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings. We recommend this platform for doctoral, research and expert searching.
- Health Research Premium CollectionMedicine, General Health and Health Science
A huge database of health-related journals, books, evidence-based resources, videos and audio and dissertations.
Full Text available.
- EmbaseBiosciences and Pharmacology
Database containing biomedical articles in peer reviewed journals covers drug and pharmaceutical research.
Some Full Text available. Do not use the Payperview option, if unable to access full text, copy and paste the title of the article into Library Search to check our subscriptions.
- Science Direct This link opens in a new windowLife, Health and Social Sciences
A scientific database offering journal articles and book chapters covering a broad range of scientific, technical, and medical research. Includes social sciences and humanities.
Full Text available.
- Web of Science Primary (SCIE, SSCI & AHCI) This link opens in a new windowSciences and Social Sciences
A very large database covering a wide range of science subjects and is particularly good for interdisciplinary searches. Offers citation searching. You can also register for EndNote Online via Web of Science.
Some Full Text available - if unable to access full text, copy and paste the title of the article into Library Search to check our subscriptions.
Web of Science Quick-start guide
- CINAHL UltimateNursing and Allied Health
A comprehensive source of journal articles covering a wide range of subjects aimed at nursing & allied health professionals, also useful for medicine.
Full Text available.
- PsycARTICLESPsychology
A good range of psychology-related journals where you can search for Psychology-related articles.
Full Text available.
PsycARTICLES Quick-start guide
- SPORTDiscus with Full TextSports and Exercise Science
Database of literature for sports and sports medicine journals. Provides extensive coverage in the areas of fitness, health and sport studies.
Full Text available.
- Complete Anatomy
Complete Anatomy is the world's most advanced 3D anatomy platform available as an app for macOS, Windows 10, iPad, iPhone, and Android.
- Global Index MedicusGlobal Index Medicus (GIM) provides worldwide access to biomedical and public health literature produced by and within low-middle income countries. The main objective is to increase the visibility and usability of this important set of resources. The material is collated and aggregated by WHO Regional Office Libraries on a central search platform allowing retrieval of bibliographical and full text information. Use Library Search to check for full text if not available.
