• The International Research Centre for Calligraphy (IRCC) was set up in 1999 by Dr Manny Ling and Professor Ewan Clayton from the Department of Design. The IRCC collection of calligraphy books at the St Peter’s Library was kindly donated by Roehampton University, and complements the other calligraphy resources in our collection.
• The IRCC has developed a world-wide reputation for calligraphic research. Over the years it has organised and curated numerous international calligraphy symposia and exhibitions.
• You can discover these resources on our Library Search. You can browse details of the whole collection online. If you have any queries about the content of the collection, please contact Professor Ewan Clayton.

The University of Sunderland’s Special Collections are a vital resource for learning and research, actively supporting the values and ambitions of both the University and the Library. To foster inclusive engagement and a sustained interest in the Special Collections - academically, locally, and even on national and international levels - we emphasise key components such as preservation, access, promotion, and collaboration. 

Within our Special Collections, you’ll find records and objects relating to organisations, individuals, and historical periods. Our collections are not only diverse but also rich in content, offering an excellent opportunity for original research. The collections include original historical records, photographs, letters, cartoons and maps, video recordings, pictures, objects, rare books and other printed works. 

You can search the online catalogue which contains collections and item level descriptions relating to our collections.

Use of collections within teaching - We are happy to work in collaboration with academic staff to support student teaching and research wherever possible. If you are a member of staff and would like to explore using some of our collections within teaching, consult our advice on this subject and get in touch if you'd like to know more.

• Located on the Library at DavidGoldman, the Secure Collection is made up of valuable resources including artists books, special editions, rare art books and signed copies. Subject coverage is varied but predominantly falls within Fine Art and Photography.
• Items can be used for reference in the library during staffed hours and can be found using Library Search.
• Highlights of the Secure Collections include Ed Ruscha books including Every building on the Sunset Strip, Twenty Six Gasoline Stations and Nine swimming pools and a broken glass.
• These resources are featured in a blog post video by Suzie Williams (Academic Liaison Librarian for Faculty of Arts and Creative Industries) and Carol McKay (Associate Head of School for Arts).
• Academic staff can borrow items from this collection for use in teaching sessions - consult our policy on 'Secure Collection Borrowing Policy.'

Rhino (Rhinocerous 3D)

• This is a software used for three-dimensional modelling and required by glass and ceramics students for their coursework. It is installed on a specific cluster of computers at St. Peter's Library and Library at Murray. 
• Which computers have Rhino installed on them?

Software available on library computers

• We have a list of software available on computers in the library

Assistive Technology

• Explore the assistive technology that is offered across campus.

• The Arts and Design slide collection kept in the Library at Murray includes slides covering many aspects of art and design.
• You can find slides by searching the Slide Collection on Library Search, using the artist’s name or a subject. To limit your search to only show slides, under 'Refine your search', select the slide resource type.
• We have a lightbox which you can use in the library to view the slides, and can be borrowed from the help desk.
• The slides are kept in a storage facility adjacent to the Library so will need to be retrieved by a member of staff. Please give us at least 24 hours notice of what you want to look at so that we can retrieve the slides in a timely manner for you.
• You can let us know your requirements by contacting us through LibraryTalk or coming to the Enquiry desk.