Databases for Computer Science
Databases contain journal articles and other types of information such as conference papers and book chapters. They usually have specialised search functions so you can search very specifically for your topic.
The core resources for your subjects are listed on this page.
Note: the links will take you to a 'landing page' for the database within Library Search. Click the link to the database under 'View Online' to connect to the database.
- ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Full text of articles published by the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM)
Partner Staff Access
Log in directly on the ACM Digital website. Choose ‘Institutional Login’. - British Standards Online This link opens in a new window
Access to bibliographic, citation and full text of over 60,000 British, adopted European and International standards.
Watch these videos for more information on how to make the most of using British Standards online:
- IEEE Xplore
IEEE, Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, is a leading institution in the field of technology. IEEE contains journals, conference proceedings and standards in many technical areas.
Watch the videos below for information on how to search and browse in IEEE Xplore:
- O'Reilly Online Learning: Academic/Public Library Edition
Expert-created and curated information covering all the areas that will shape our future—including artificial intelligence, operations, data, UX design, finance, leadership, and more. For more info: https://www.oreilly.com
- Science Direct This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect has over 18,000 full-text Elsevier journals , plus abstracts and covers such topics as physical sciences and engineering, life sciences, health sciences, and social sciences and humanities.
Partner Staff Access
Log in directly on the Science Direct website. Choose ‘Sign in via Organization’.
- Web of Science Primary (SCIE, SSCI & AHCI) This link opens in a new window
Web of Science is a citation database (enriched metadata and abstracts). Collections include Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Coverage begins in 1989.
Partner Staff Access
Log in directly on the Web of Science website. Choose ‘Institutional Sign In’.
- Box of Broadcasts (BoB) This link opens in a new window
BOB is an academically-focused system that allows staff and students, at subscribing institutions, to record programmes from over 75 free-to-air channels; and search an archive of over 3 million broadcasts.
- Emerald Management 120
This collection of journals covers a range of subjects related to business and finance from Accounting to Women in Management. Coverage generally begins with 1994. For more information, http://info.emeraldinsight.com/products/xtra/index.htm
- Euromonitor Passport (Euromonitor International Market Research Monitor) This link opens in a new window
Global market analysis software platform, which analyses key industries in countries around the world. This online market research tool also monitors industry trends and provides strategic analysis and a market size and market share database for key industries and sectors in over 220 countries.
Partner Staff Access
Log in directly on the Euromonitor Passport website. Choose 'Institutional Login'.
- IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
IBISWorld provides industry intelligence that analyses the environment of over 400 UK industries using the five-digit level of the UK Standard Industrial Classification (UKSIC). Each industry report provides detailed performance data and analysis on the market, supply chain, operating strengths and weaknesses, external drivers, major player market strategies, industry profit and cost structure benchmarks