Skip to Main Content

University of Sunderland Library

Subject Guide: Engineering

This guide brings together library resources for your studies and research. Use these resources alongside your recommended reading from your tutors to extend your research into new areas

Books & eBooks

Books and eBooks in the collection reflect titles on your Library Reading Lists but also offer titles for wider reading. For wider reading you can use Library Search to look for specific titles, author names or keywords.

Print books for Engineering subjects are based at St Peter's Library

The books you see on the shelves at St. Peter's Library represent part of the collection. Many of our titles are available online as eBooks.

Finding Books and eBooks

If you would like to discover the latest books purchased for your subject area, check out the video below.

eBook Collections for Engineering

Explore the tabs in this section to find out about the eBook collections for Engineering available through the University Library.

All of the eBooks within these collections can be found using Library Search, or you can access each platform and search or browse directly. View the tab for each collection to find out more about content and additional features available.

The IET Control Robotics & Sensors eBook Collection is a collection of 97 fully downloadable eBooks covering Control Systems, Signal Processing, Robotics and more, published by the Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET). Click on the link below for access, if the purple padlock is not showing next to the titles click on 'log on via your Institution' and search for University of Sunderland.

Screenshot of IET eBook collection frontpage

hyperlink icon IET Control Robotics & Sensors eBook Collection

A selection of titles available:

Access is available from the  Databases A-Z link on the library homepage or by clicking the link above. 

Once you have accessed the database click on Start Learning and choose Books. Type your search term into the search bar, you can then filter your search by topic or date. Or simply browse through the topic areas to see what is available.

See the LibGuide for O'Reilly Online Learning for more information on how to make the most of this database.

Here's a selection of Engineering titles that have recently been added to O'Reilly:

The Library subscription to IEEE Xplore includes full access to 21 titles published in 2024 from the Wiley Semiconductors Library. 

hyperlink icon IEEE-Wiley Semiconductors eBook Library

This collection focuses on subjects relating to semiconductors including manufacturing materials, equipment, IC design, verification, validation, fabrication, and packaging.

A selection of titles available include:

New Books for Engineering

How to Find New Books in the Library Collection

Watch this video to show you how to search for all new books for Engineering using Library Search