Databases for Engineering
Databases contain journal articles and other types of information such as conference papers and book chapters. They usually have specialised search functions so you can search very specifically for your topic.
The core resources for your subjects are listed on this page.
Note: the links will take you to a 'landing page' for the database within Library Search. Click the link to the database under 'View Online' to connect to the database.
- British Standards Online This link opens in a new window
British Standards Online (BSOL) is the premier site for all publications from the British Standards Institution. The site contains over 35,000 documents covering specifications for products, dimensions, and performance, Codes of Practice and guides. BSOL includes an index of world standards and the full text of all British Standards.
Watch these videos for more information on how to make the most of using British Standards online:
- Emerald Engineering eJournal CollectionA collection of 32 full text journals with subject coverage that includes: aerospace engineering, chemical engineering, civil engineering, environment & geotechnical engineering, industrial engineering, design & manufacturing, materials science and mechanical engineering.
- IEEE XploreIEEE Xplore is a digital library providing full-text access to the world’s highest quality technical literature in electrical engineering, electronics, and manufacturing. IEEE Xplore contains full-text documents from IEEE journals, transactions, conference proceedings, standards, and IET (Institution of Engineering and Technology) publications.
Watch the videos below for information on how to search and browse in IEEE Xplore:
- O'Reilly Online Learning: Academic/Public Library Edition
Expert-created and curated information covering all the areas that will shape our future—including artificial intelligence, operations, data, UX design, finance, leadership, and more. For more info: https://www.oreilly.com
- Science Direct This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect has over 18,000 full-text Elsevier journals , plus abstracts and covers such topics as physical sciences and engineering, life sciences, health sciences, and social sciences and humanities.
Partner Staff Access
Log in directly on the Science Direct website. Choose ‘Sign in via Organization’. - Web of Science Primary (SCIE, SSCI & AHCI) This link opens in a new window
Web of Science is a citation database (enriched metadata and abstracts). Collections include Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Coverage begins in 1989.
Partner Staff Access
Log in directly on the Web of Science website. Choose ‘Institutional Sign In’.