Zotero is a free desktop-based tool to help you manage your references. 

One of the main benefits of using Zotero is that it has two useful add-ins: 

• Zotero Connector allows you to save references directly from your browser with a click.
• Uploading PDF feature Zotero can automatically extract bibliographic information from websites, PDFs, and databases.

Zotero also works with Microsoft Word, LibreOffice, OpenOffice and Google Docs

The website allows syncing with your desktop library and access to your library of references anywhere.

Tip: As well as the instructions on this guide, more help is available on the Zotero Help Pages

To Download Zotero:

• Visit the Zotero Website: Go to Zotero's official download page: https://www.zotero.org/download/ 
• Choose Your Operating System: Select the version of Zotero appropriate for your operating system (Windows, macOS, or Linux).
• Follow any installation instructions.

We recommend you also download the Zotero connector for the browser you use as this makes capturing references in many databases significantly quicker and easier. Follow any additional instructions provided by your browser to complete the installation.

Set Up Your Zotero Account:

• Create an Account: If you don't already have a Zotero account, go to Zotero's registration page and sign up for a free account.
• Sync Your Library: Open Zotero, go to the Preferences menu (under Edit on Windows, Zotero on macOS), and select the Sync tab. Enter your Zotero account details to sync your library across devices.

By following these steps, you will have Zotero installed on your device, the browser connector set up for easy reference saving, and your Zotero account ready to sync your library. This setup allows you to start collecting, organising, and citing your research materials efficiently.

Instructions for Downloading the Zotero Connector

The Zotero Connector allows you to save references directly from your web browser to your Zotero library. Follow these steps to download and install the Zotero Connector for your preferred browser.

Visit the Zotero download page. On the download page, choose the Zotero Connector for your preferred browser (Chrome, Firefox, or Safari). 

After installation, look for the Zotero Connector icon in your browser's toolbar In most cases it will be in the top-right corner of the browser window.

Syncing your desktop version of Zotero with the Cloud means you can use it across multiple devices.

There are a number of ways to add items to your Zotero library. Zotero recommends to using the Zotero Connector (See above). The connector will automatically find bibliographic information when you browse the web, use Library Search or our databases. 

Using Zotero Connector to add items from most databases, including Library Search or Google Scholar

Zotero can find bibliographic information from web pages, Library search and databases. When you have located an item that you want to add to your library, just click on the Zotero Connector Icon in your browser. This will give you the option to save the bibliographic information into your Zotero library.

Adding references from Library Search

Make sure Zotero is open and run your search as usual in Library Search.

To add an individual resource:

1. Open the item you want to add to Zotero, then click on the Zotero Connector to add the item to your library.
2. Choose the option to 'Export RIS' and open the downloaded file using Zotero. 

To add several references at the same time:

1. From your Library Search results page, click on the Zotero Connector. When multiple items are available, this will appear like a ‘folder’ icon in the top right corner of your browser. 
2. A window will open to allow you to select the items you want to add. Tick the items you want to add to your Zotero Library.
3. Click OK.
4. Edit all the new references immediately to remove errors and ensure completeness.
5. If there is more than one page of relevant results, you will need to repeat these steps for each page.

Zotero pulls bibliographic information from a range of information search tools. Every database or search tool will look slightly different or call this something different, but they all function in much the same way: collect the references you are interested in, use the Zotero Connector or download them into a .RIS file and open that RIS file in Zotero. You can usually find this functionality by looking for features such as 'export', 'send to', 'download citations' or 'RIS'.

Zotero - Adding References to Zotero by University Library Services & Study Skills

Import a PDF

You can import a single PDF or a folder of PDF articles from your desktop into Zotero. Zotero will attempt to generate full references from the data it finds in the PDF document. To do this:

1. Click on the green plus sign, choose Link to file. This will open your computer browser and you will be able to select one or several PDFs to add.
2. Edit the imported references immediately for errors and completeness

Importing and uploading results from most databases

Note: Export your list of references from the chosen database as a RefMan-RIS file and follow the steps below to import to 

Example from Library Search:

Make sure Zotero is open and run your search as usual in Library Search.

1. Use the tick boxes to select all the references you want to export to Zotero. If you want to export them all choose the tick box at the top of the list.
2. Click the three dots menu at the top of the results list and select Export RIS and then Download
3. Open the downloaded file using Zotero. 
4. Find the file in your downloads folder and double click, it should open in Zotero
5. The file doesn't automatically open go to Zotero and click File then Import 
6. Follow the instructions and upload the file (you don't need to change the radio buttons)

Add items manually

Zotero recommends using the Zotero Connector whenever possible, but you can still add information manually. Click on the Green plus sign (new item) or click on File, then 'New Item'. Select which type of item you want to add (book, book chapter, journal article...). You can then manually enter the information you need in the relevant areas of the form on the right-hand pane. Use Cite Them Right to make sure you fill in the information you need for your references.

Full instructions for each method of adding references to Zotero.

To check that your references are formatted correctly for your programme of study, by checking out Cite Them Right Online. 

Zotero integrates with Microsoft Word, Google Docs, or LibreOffice, and allows you to insert a citation from your Zotero library into whatever you are typing. Zotero will also automatically format a reference list at the end of your work, if required. Zotero's referencing style menu allows you to choose between Harvard style, Vancouver, APA, OSCOLA and many others. 

To start working with Zotero in Microsoft Word, open your document in Word. You should see a Zotero tab in your Microsoft Word menu. Make sure Zotero is open at the same time.

Configure the referencing style

• Your module leader will tell you which referencing style to use, usually in the assignment brief. You will need to configure that style from within Microsoft Word, before you insert citations. 
• Go to the Zotero tab in Microsoft Word.
• Open Document Preferences and choose your desired style from the menu.

Insert a citation

• Position your cursor in the part of your text where you would like the citation to appear.
• Go to the Zotero tab in Microsoft Word, then click Add/Edit Citation.
• For the first citation in a document Zotero will ask you to choose your citation style.
• A pop up search bar will appear, type in keywords to find the desired citation (for example: author's name, title)
• Select the citation as it appears (note: you can add several citations in a single reference by pressing the spacebar and then searching for another paper).
• When you have added all the citations you wanted, press Enter.
• Your citation or footnote will appear where appropriate.

Full instructions for using Zotero with your word processing software of choice.

Important note: Zotero is a tool for creating references and reference lists but it can generate errors. It is your responsibility to ensure that the citations and reference list in your work is formatted correctly. Use Cite Them Right to help you proofread and check every citation and full reference in your reference list.

Zotero -Insert citation into Word by University Library Services & Study Skills

Creating a reference list in Zotero is easy. It creates the list based on the citations you have added to your text. You can create the list as soon as you have added your first citation. It will update as you add more citations to your work. You can also edit it once you have finished.

Create a reference list

• Position your cursor in the part of your text where you would like the reference list to appear (generally at the end of your work).
• Click the Add/Edit Bibliography option in the Zotero tab in Microsoft Word
• The reference list will appear.
• Always check that the list is accurate and check against Cite Them Right.

Editing your reference list

• If you want to add or remove items from your reference list, click the Add/Edit Bibliography option in the Zotero tab in Microsoft Word
• A pop up window will appear allowing with three columns: your whole library with folder, the folder currently selected, your current reference list.
• You will be able to add or remove items from your list by navigating in the different folders and using the arrows next for the 'References in your bibliography' column.

For full instructions on how to create reference lists (bibliographies) using the Word plug in.

Zotero - Creating a reference list by University Library Services & Study Skills

It is easy to create duplicates in your Zotero library. Zotero allows you to merge duplicates together to clean up your library.

• Go to Duplicate Items (left-hand pane)
• Select an Item in the Duplicates Items.
• Duplicates will be highlighted.
• Check the records of each duplicate on the right-hand side pane.
• Choose the version which has the most information and use it as the master item.
• Click the Merge items button.

Full instructions in how to deal with duplicates.

Zotero - De-duplicating your references by University Library Services & Study Skills

It is possible to export an EndNote library of references into Zotero. There are two different methods depending on whether you just want to import references or whether you would like to transfer references and attached documents. Each method involves first exporting your references from EndNote desktop as a file and then opening Zotero and importing that file into Zotero.

You must first install Zotero and set up your account before you can transfer your EndNote library into it.

Transferring EndNote references to Zotero

1. Open EndNote desktop app, then use the File menu and select Export.
2.  For the file type, select Text File .txt
3. For the output style select RefMan (RIS) Export (you may need to select Another Style to see this option)
4. Save the file to an easy-to-find place on your computer like your desktop.
5. Open your Zotero library. Click on the File menu and then Import. In the pop-up window, choose the EndNote file you just saved. Your Endnote references will be imported into your Zotero library. 

Transferring EndNote references and attached PDFs to Zotero

If you have file attachments such as PDF's in your Endnote library, you may want to transfer these to Zotero along with the references themselves. 

To do this, you need to save your exported Endnote Library .txt file in a very specific location, before you import it into Zotero. 

1. Open EndNote desktop app, then use the File menu and select Export.
2.  For the file type, select Text File .txt
3. For the output style select RefMan (RIS) Export (you may need to select Another Style to see this option)
4. You need to save your exported Endnote .txt file into the Endnote .data file of your existing Endnote library. This will allow Zotero to find the necessary PDF files to attach to the imported records. You will find your Endnote .data file in the same location that your Endnote library file is saved (.enl).
   If you don't know where your Endnote files are saved, go to your Endnote library Tools menu and click Library Summary. This will tell you the location of your Endnote library files. 
5. Open your Zotero library. Click on the File menu and then Import. In the pop-up window, choose the txt file you have saved into your Endnote .data file. Your Endnote references will be imported into your Zotero library, including attachments.

To check that the PDF's/attachments have been imported along with your references, click the small arrow next to each reference in your Zotero library, this will show the attached PDF's.