Leanne Young
This blog post highlights some recently published library resources, including e-books, articles, and research databases, to help students develop a strong and effective brand strategy for a destination or organization.
Case studies are real life examples that can be a rich source of evidence to support your arguments. We're sharing some recently published Case Studies on the CABI Tourism Cases database.
Putting the spotlight on resources for current issues in tourism.
New books and recently published journal articles on urban regeneration, heritage & BIDS.
6 tips to help you find the sources you need for your assignments.
The Library subscribes to two case study databases that cover topics related to the hospitality and tourism industries. In this post we share examples of recently published cases.
A selection of books and journal articles on graduate employability.
Just a few examples of the many journal articles in the library collections on the environment and sustainability in hospitality & tourism.
A few examples of recently published books on the topic of the environment & sustainability in the hospitality and tourism industries.
A spotlight on some of the sources in the library all about the Covid-19 pandemic and the tourism/hospitality industry.
Examples of resources in the library collections all about qualitative research. If you're doing TLH251, or you are a 3rd year or Masters student doing a major project this will be of interest to you.
Suggestions for how to find company information in the library collections - the main databases to use and some examples of company reports.
I'm Leanne Young and I am your Academic Liaison Librarian (Hospitality, Events, Aviation and Tourism).
I'm looking forward to meeting you in your classes in a few weeks to share with you how to make best use of the library resources.
Until then I wanted to share a few useful tips and links for your first few weeks:
Pop into the Libraries
Pop in and have a look around. Explore the study spaces and browse the shelves for your subjects - the print resources for everything except esports are at St. Peter's Library (esports is at Library@ David Goldman.)
Book a tour or introductory session about the Library
Visit the Library Essentials Guide where you will find some information on getting started and you can sign up for a short tour of the library or perhaps learn about how to use some of the technology (such as printing and Wi-Fi).
Ask us if you have a question
You can always ask library staff if you have a question - we're always happy to see you in person but we also have a 24/7 chat service for when you need it. Find out more about contacting the Library.
Recently published books, chapters, journal articles, and case studies all about authenticity
Recent books, chapters, journal articles and case studies all about destination and place marketing.
The latest academic articles published in the Journal of Travel Research.
Image Attribution: Photo by Thorsten technoman - View of Tourist resort (Pexels)
This week we're putting the spotlight on resources all about the hotel, lodging and accommodation sector. There is a lot of information on this topic that you can incorporate into your assignments. Below are just a few examples of recently published books, chapters, journal articles, case studies and industry reports.
Books
Book Chapters
Journal Articles
Case Studies
How to access Case Studies
* To access the case study from CABI Tourism cases, make sure you access and login to CABI Tourism Cases via Library Search before you try to access the individual case study.
CABIs case study database - Tourism Cases, is a window into the world of tourism development.
Industry & Market Research
IBISWorld Industry Reports:
Reports outline the major players in the industry, publish key data and statistics, competitors, as well as looking at products and services offered.
- Hotels in the UK
- Global Hotels and Resorts
- Budget Hotels in the UK
Market Research & Company Profiles
Euromonitor Passport publishes different reports relevant to accommodation and lodging. Below are some examples:
- Company profiles for example Marriott International Inc (Jan 2024) and Airbnb In (Dec 2023)
- Country Reports and Lodging (Destination) reports in a range of countries including the UK
How to access Industry & Market Research
IBISWorld provides industry intelligence that analyses the environment of over 400 UK industries using the five-digit level of the UK Standard Industrial Classification (UKSIC). Each industry report provides detailed performance data and analysis on the market, supply chain, operating strengths and weaknesses, external drivers, major player market strategies, industry profit and cost structure benchmarks
Global market analysis software platform, which analyses key industries in countries around the world. This online market research tool also monitors industry trends and provides strategic analysis and a market size and market share database for key industries and sectors in over 220 countries.
Watch a short video about how to access and browse Euromonitor.
Research Methods books for HEAT students doing a major project.
Recent books, chapters, journal articles, industry & market research, and case studies all about gastronomy.
Examples of recent market research on the travel and consumer foodservice industries.
Examples of recent case studies for hospitality, aviation and tourism.
Examples of recent case studies for hospitality and tourism.
CABI who provide the Leisure Tourism database are migrating to a new CABI Digital Library. The Library will be updating all links via Library Search but if you use CABI to save alerts and searches you will need to take some action so that you can transfer them to the new system.
New books for hospitality, events, aviation & tourism.