Databases for Media and English
The Library provides access to a wide-range of online databases - here are a selection particularly relevant in Media and English.
- Box of Broadcasts (BoB) This link opens in a new window
BOB is an academically-focused system that allows staff and students, at subscribing institutions, to record programmes from over 75 free-to-air channels; and search an archive of over 3 million broadcasts.
- Euromonitor Passport (Euromonitor International Market Research Monitor) This link opens in a new window
Global market analysis software platform, which analyses key industries in countries around the world. This online market research tool also monitors industry trends and provides strategic analysis and a market size and market share database for key industries and sectors in over 220 countries.
- Fashion History Timeline This link opens in a new windowan open-access source for fashion history knowledge, featuring objects and artworks from over a hundred museums and libraries that span the globe. TheTimelinewebsite offers well-researched, accessibly written entries onartworks,garments,filmsand specific time periods, for those interested in fashion and dress history.
- Global Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Global Newsstream enables users to search the most recent global news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full- text format
- IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
IBISWorld provides industry intelligence that analyses the environment of over 400 UK industries using the five-digit level of the UK Standard Industrial Classification (UKSIC). Each industry report provides detailed performance data and analysis on the market, supply chain, operating strengths and weaknesses, external drivers, major player market strategies, industry profit and cost structure benchmarks
- John Johnson Collection This link opens in a new windowThis collection provides access to thousands of items selected from the John Johnson Collection of Printed Ephemera, offering unique insights into the changing nature of everyday life in Britain in the eighteenth, nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. Categories include Nineteenth-Century Entertainment, the Booktrade, Popular Prints, Crimes, Murders and Executions, and Advertising
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowGood for theory and criticism. Note: material generally excludes the three previous years.
- Literary Reference Plus This link opens in a new windowContains information from reference works, books and literary journals plus contemporary literature titles, full-text literary study guides, and literary videos.
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
MLA International Bibliography covers a broad range of humanities subjects, including world languages and literatures, linguistics, dramatic arts, film, folklore, rhetoric and writing studies, teaching of language, and history of publishing. Its expansive scope also makes it an excellent resource for research in history, philosophy, communications, and cross-disciplinary subjects such as gender studies and area studies.
- VADS-Visual Arts Data Services This link opens in a new window
VADS provides a national collection of over 140,000 images from over 300 art and design collections across the UK, which are freely available for non-commercial use in education. The images cover the broad range of the visual arts including applied arts, architecture, design, fashion, fine art, and media. VADS is a service of the Library at the University for the Creative Arts (UCA).
- WGSN - Fashionan online style gallery. The first time you use it, you will need to set up an account with your university email address (@sunderland.ac.uk).
What is the benefit of using library databases?
Each of our databases contains many different resources and information that could be valuable for consulting as part of your research. Here are ideas for getting started in searching these resources.
- Euromonitor - You can research market sector data for specific industries.
- Fashion History Timeline - This open access resource for fashion history offers well-researched, accessibly written entries on artworks, garments and films.
- Global Newsstream - Provides online full-text access to UK, regional and national broadsheet newspapers as well as many top international titles.
- IBISWorld - Gives you access to industry data, for example, about the fashion industry on manufacture, wholesale and retail.
- JSTOR - Excellent resources for theory and criticism
- MLA International Bibliography - Includes records on world languages and literatures, linguistics, dramatic arts, film, folklore, rhetoric and writing studies, teaching of language, and history of publishing.
Statistical Resources
The Office for National Statistics is a great resource if you are seeking data and statistics to explore aspects such as demographics in a particular area that you want to highlight in your research.
UK Data Service primarily has raw datasets that researchers can request access to so they can do secondary data analysis. The Office for National Statistics has some publicly available datasets too, there are not as many available as through the UK Data Service.
- Office for National Statistics (ONS)
Collects and publishes UK statistics relating to the economy, population, and society at national, regional and local levels. ONS conduct the census in England and Wales every 10 years. - UK Data ServiceProvide access to longitudinal surveys, census data, administrative data, international macrodata and qualitative data.
What if we don't have access to the resources you need?
When you find resources you want to read for your research, sometimes you may find that the Library does not have access to them, either in print or online format. If this is the case, we can try and get it for you from the British Library or another university library. You can find out more about this inter-library loan service on our web pages.
What if you can't find relevant literature? Come and see us
When you have created your search strategy and put this into practice by searching the library resources, if you can't find relevant literature for your dissertation or research project you can book a one-to-one consultation with Suzie Williams, your Academic Liaison Librarian for future advice.