There are specialist resources available for English and Creative Writing to help you with research and assignments.  These range from subscription databases, open access research, freely available web resources and digital archives (where out of copyright texts, including classic novels, can be found). The links on this page are to freely available digital archives and online texts.

• Bartleby.com Great Books Online - Literature, reference material and verse free online including the often recommended Elements of Style by Strunk.
• British Library – National Library with extensive resources including blogs on English and Drama and Medieval Manuscripts. 
• Eighteenth Century E-Texts – Catalogue linking to many other digital archives and freely available full text eighteenth century materials. NB - this is no longer updated but some links are still live.
• Internet Archive – Over 10,000,000 fully accessible books and texts.
• Project Gutenburg - Over 50,000 free ebooks to download or read online.

Explore collections of public domain and open access material freely available online for use and reuse suitable for Media, Film, Journalism and Production students.

• Internet Archive - Animation and Cartoons.
• Internet Archive - Feature Films.
• The Public Domain Review.
• Universal Newsreels.
• Visual Arts Data Service.

This is an open archive for Media, Film and Communication Studies. It is a free, community-led digital archive for media, film and communication research aimed at opening up research to a broader readership. Details about the archive are available online.

• MediArXiv.

The guide produced by a team from the University of Leicester shares insight into how you can use Box of Broadcasts and TRILT as tools for academic research on broadcast media.