Databases for Performing Arts and Music
The Library provides access to a wide-range of online databases - here are a selection particularly relevant to Performing Arts and Music.
- Art Full Text This link opens in a new window
is a comprehensive resource for art information featuring full-text articles from more than 300 journals dating back to 1995, as well as high-quality indexing of over 600 journals as far back as 1984. In addition to articles, Art Full Text indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed journals this provides examples of styles and art movements, and includes works from emerging artists.
- Box of Broadcasts (BoB) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
BOB is an academically-focused system that allows staff and students, at subscribing institutions, to record programmes from over 75 free-to-air channels; and search an archive of over 3 million broadcasts.
- Education Research Complete This link opens in a new windowEducation Research Complete includes all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. It also covers areas of curriculum instruction as well as administration, policy, funding, and related social issues. It contains the full text of over 1,300 journals and 2,500 education related conference papers and access to over 500 ebooks.
- Euromonitor Passport (Euromonitor International Market Research Monitor) This link opens in a new window
Global market analysis software platform, which analyses key industries in countries around the world. This online market research tool also monitors industry trends and provides strategic analysis and a market size and market share database for key industries and sectors in over 220 countries.
Partner Staff Access
Log in directly on the Euromonitor Passport website. Choose 'Institutional Login'. - Global Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Global Newsstream enables users to search the most recent global news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full- text format
Partner Staff Access
Log in directly on the Proquest (Global Newsstream) website. Click on ‘Login through your Library’ and choose ‘Institutional Login'. - IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
IBISWorld provides industry intelligence that analyses the environment of over 400 UK industries using the five-digit level of the UK Standard Industrial Classification (UKSIC). Each industry report provides detailed performance data and analysis on the market, supply chain, operating strengths and weaknesses, external drivers, major player market strategies, industry profit and cost structure benchmarks
- International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text This link opens in a new window
The definitive research tool for the study of theatre and the performing arts. It is a fully indexed, cross-referenced and annotated databank of over 60,000 journal articles, books, book chapters and dissertation abstracts on all aspects of theatre and performance in 126 countries.International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Textcontains more than 490 full-text titles, including more than 170 full-text journals, and more than 360 full-text books & monographs.
What is the benefit of using library databases?
Each of our databases contains many different resources and information that could be valuable for consulting as part of your research. Here are ideas for getting started in searching these resources.
- Art Full Text - Includes content on costume design, culture, visual arts and film.
- Education Research Complete - Wide coverage of all levels of education from early childhood to higher education.
- Euromonitor - Focuses its industry analysis across consumer goods and services. For example, music students may want to research sound recordings and music publishing the UK including what external drivers are impacting on the industry.
- International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance - Definitive research tool for the study of theatre and the performing arts including ballet, comedy, mine, opera, puppetry and theatre.
- Literary Reference Center Plus - Really useful for drama and performing arts including plot summaries and interactive study guides on plays and novels.
Statistical Resources
The Office for National Statistics is a great resource if you are seeking data and statistics to explore aspects such as demographics in a particular area that you want to highlight in your research.
UK Data Service primarily has raw datasets that researchers can request access to so they can do secondary data analysis. The Office for National Statistics has some publicly available datasets too, there are not as many available as through the UK Data Service.
- Office for National Statistics (ONS)
Collects and publishes UK statistics relating to the economy, population, and society at national, regional and local levels. ONS conduct the census in England and Wales every 10 years. - UK Data ServiceProvide access to longitudinal surveys, census data, administrative data, international macrodata and qualitative data.
What if we don't have access to the resources you need?
When you find resources you want to read for your research, sometimes you may find that the Library does not have access to them, either in print or online format. If this is the case, we can try and get it for you from the British Library or another university library. You can find out more about this inter-library loan service on our web pages.
What if you can't find relevant literature? Come and see us
When you have created your search strategy and put this into practice by searching the library resources, if you can't find relevant literature for your dissertation or research project you can book a one-to-one consultation with Suzie Williams, your Academic Liaison Librarian for future advice.