Key Education Databases
In this section you will find links and description to the key education resources the library subscribe to. You can access these databases via the Library Website. You can decide to search these databases directly to locate the resources you need to your studies.
Searching for material using a database can help you narrow your search.
Databases will search through different collections of resources, some will contain full text articles, others will only give you access to an abstract. If you find that you are really interested in an article or book that we do not have full text for, make sure you use our Inter-Library Loan system.
- British Education Index This link opens in a new window
Information on research, policy and practice in education and training in the UK. This is an index and abstracts only database.
- Education Abstracts (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new windowEducation Abstracts is an education research database providing high-quality indexing and abstracts for hundreds of journals. Coverage spans all levels of education and includes adult education, multicultural education and teaching methods.
- Educational Administration Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Educational Administration Abstracts includes records covering areas related to educational administration, including educational leadership, educational management, educational research, and other key areas. The index contains more than 190,000 records dating back to 1966. Coverage includes important sources within the discipline, such as: Educational Administration Quarterly, Review of Higher Education, Journal of Educational Administration. ully searchable via Library Search, but direct access to full text may come from other subscribed content.
- Education Research Complete This link opens in a new windowEducation Research Complete includes all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. It also covers areas of curriculum instruction as well as administration, policy, funding, and related social issues. It contains the full text of over 1,300 journals and 2,500 education related conference papers and access to over 500 ebooks.
- ERIC This link opens in a new window
ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and resources. The database contains more than 1.3 million records and provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index.
Other useful databases
- Child Development and Adolescent Studies This link opens in a new window
Produced by NISC, this bibliographic database is today's source for references to the current and historical literature related to growth and development of children through the age of 21. It contains book reviews and abstracts from hundreds of journals and a bibliography of thousands of technical reports, books, book chapters, theses and dissertations covering biomedical and social sciences worldwide are indexed. More than 342,000 records are included with over 10,000 new records added each year.
- Global Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Global Newsstream enables users to search the most recent global news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full- text format
Partner Staff Access
Log in directly on the Proquest (Global Newsstream) website. Click on ‘Login through your Library’ and choose ‘Institutional Login'. - OpenDOAR This link opens in a new window
OpenDOAR is the quality-assured, global Directory of Open Access Repositories. You can search and browse through thousands of registered repositories based on a range of features, such as location, software or type of material held.
- Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new windowLarge full text psychology database offering full text coverage for nearly 400 journals and covers topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry and psychology, mental processes, counselling, and observational and experimental methods.
- SSOAR (Social Science Open Access Repository) This link opens in a new window
The full-text server SSOAR, which is maintained at GESIS Leibniz Institute for the Social Sciences, collects and archives literature of relevance to the social sciences and makes it available in open access on the Internet in accordance with the Berlin Declaration on Open Access to Knowledge in the Sciences and Humanities.
- Web of Science Primary (SCIE, SSCI & AHCI) This link opens in a new window
Web of Science is a citation database (enriched metadata and abstracts). Collections include Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Coverage begins in 1989.
Partner Staff Access
Log in directly on the Web of Science website. Choose ‘Institutional Sign In’.
Box of Broadcasts
Box of Broadcasts (BoB) is an on-demand TV & Radio streaming service for education and research. It contains over 2 million broadcasts from over 75 free-to-air channels including BBC, ITV, Channel 4 and more. View a complete list of channels.
As well as giving stable, legal access to broadcast content, BoB offers some exciting features for teaching and learning.
- Links to broadcasts or clips can be embedded into presentations, or embedded into Canvas.
- Advanced search: It’s possible to search BoB by subject or program as well as by date e.g. it’s possible to see everything broadcast from a date in time.
- Clips and notes: You can use slider bars on a broadcast to create clips and write annotations on those clips. It’s possible to put these clips into a compilation. No extra software is needed.
- Playlists: Tutors can create playlists, with annotations, and make these available publicly, to a cohort, or keep them private in a workspace. There are over 80,000 publicly available playlists, and it’s possible to search these by curator, keyword, or institution. Playlists can include programmes, individual broadcasts, clips or clip compilations.
- Transcripts: BoB also offers transcripts, which would be helpful for accessibility, language comprehension, and quoting for essays. Transcripts are fully searchable by keyword.
- Box of Broadcasts (BoB) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
BOB is an academically-focused system that allows staff and students, at subscribing institutions, to record programmes from over 75 free-to-air channels; and search an archive of over 3 million broadcasts.
How to Login to BoB
You need to log in to BoB with your university ID and password, and then enter your email address and name (one time only) to create an account within BoB. It should work in all internet browsers, but Chrome seems to be working the best at the moment. Due to licensing restrictions, BoB can only be used in the United Kingdom