Academic Journals & Articles
Academic journals are an important source of information for your study and research. You may think of them a bit like scholarly magazines. Issues are published periodically (for example monthly or quarterly). Journals publish issues periodically, for example monthly or quarterly, and most academic journals are peer-reviewed. Journals contain articles relating to a specific subject/topic area; they are essential for finding original research, analysis, case studies and literature reviews that you can then cite in your assignments.
The best place to start your search for academic journals is Library Search.
- Library Search Search our collections and subscriptions.
You may also search for academic journal articles in subject databases. For hospitality, events, aviation and tourism the following databases will be particularly relevant:
- CABI Leisure Tourism This link opens in a new window
CABI Leisure Tourism provides full text access to over 13,000 journals articles as well as bibliographic records for lots of other journals
- Science Direct This link opens in a new windowScience Direct has over 18,000 full text journals plus abstracts on a range of topics including hospitality, events, aviation and tourism.
- Hospitality & Tourism Complete This link opens in a new window
Hospitality & Tourism Complete provides full text access to journals articles, magazines and country reports relating to all areas of hospitality & Tourism.
Help Searching for & Using Journal Articles
- Library Search Search our collections and subscriptions.
Work through our tutorial to get some tips on reading academic journal articles!