Introduction
Academic journals publish academic research in the form of journal articles. You may think of them a bit like scholarly magazines. Issues are published periodically (for example monthly or quarterly). The Library subscribes to many subject databases which contain journal articles. For law the following databases will be particularly relevant:
- Library Search Search our collections and subscriptions.
- HeinOnline Law Journal Library This link opens in a new window
HeinOnlines Law Journal Library is comprehensive, beginning with the first issue ever published of more than 1,800 law and law-related periodicals. Includes more than 26 million pages of articles, comments, notes, book reviews, cases, decisions, and legislation.
- Lexis+ UK This link opens in a new window
Lexis+ UK includes annotated legislation, cases, forms, precedents and commentary. It includes Halsburys Laws, ICLR Law Reports, UK Acts, Statutory Instruments, the Encyclopaedia of Forms & Precedents, definitions of legal terms, over 80 leading journals.
Partner Staff Access:
Available to centres teaching law programmes. - Westlaw UK This link opens in a new window
Westlaw UK is an online legal information service. It has comprehensive case law, legislation and journal archives and an exclusive collection of news and business information.
Partner Staff Access:
Available to centres teaching law programmes. - Science Direct This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect has over 18,000 full-text Elsevier journals , plus abstracts and covers such topics as physical sciences and engineering, life sciences, health sciences, and social sciences and humanities.
Partner Staff Access
Log in directly on the Science Direct website. Choose ‘Sign in via Organization’.
Help Searching for & Using Journal Articles
Work through our tutorial to get some tips on reading academic journal articles!