Health Databases
Databases contain journal articles and other types of information such as conference papers and book chapters. They usually have specialised search functions so you can search very specifically for your topic.
The core resources for your subjects are listed on this page.
Note: the links will take you to a 'landing page' for the database within Library Search. Click the link to the database under 'View Online' to connect to the database.
- CINAHL Ultimate
A comprehensive source of journal articles covering a wide range of subjects aimed at nursing & allied health professionals. - MEDLINEMEDLINE is a key bibliographic database for medical literature. 25 million+ references to journal articles in life sciences with a focus on biomedicine.
- SPORTDiscus with Full Text
Full-text database covering sports and sports medicine journals and providing full text for hundreds of journals indexed in SPORTDiscus.
- Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new windowLarge full text psychology database offering full text coverage for nearly 400 journals and covers topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry and psychology, mental processes, counselling, and observational and experimental methods.
- Health Research Premium CollectionA huge database of health-related journals, books, evidence-based resources, videos and audio and dissertations.
- PsycARTICLESA database of full-text, peer-reviewed articles published by the American Psychological Association (APA) and affiliated journals.
- PubMedKey for medical, biomedical and other life-sciences related journal articles. Includes citations from MEDLINE. Publicly available database. Links to full text may not check Library subscriptions – use Library Search to check for full text access.
- EmbaseDatabase containing biomedical articles in peer reviewed journals. Covers drug and pharmaceutical research.
- Science Direct This link opens in a new windowA scientific database offering journal articles and book chapters covering a broad range of science subjects. Includes social sciences and humanities from 18,000 Elsevier journals.
- ScienceDirect LibGuide
Guide to searching in ScienceDirect. Click Help & Support for video tutorials.
- Web of Science Primary (SCIE, SSCI & AHCI) This link opens in a new windowVery large citation database covering a wide range of science subjects and is particularly good for interdisciplinary searches. Offers citation searching. You can also register for EndNote Online via Web of Science.
- Global Index MedicusGlobal Index Medicus (GIM) provides worldwide access to biomedical and public health literature produced by and within low-middle income countries. The main objective is to increase the visibility and usability of this important set of resources. The material is collated and aggregated by WHO Regional Office Libraries on a central search platform allowing retrieval of bibliographical and full text information. Use Library Search to check for full text if not available.