How can Key Subject Resources Help me?
If you are just starting your studies Key Subject Resources help you quickly find high quality, important and trustworthy sources in your subject area.
Key Subject Resources gather together:
- Databases - include eJournal articles, book reviews, conference papers and eBooks.
- eJournals - contain eJournal articles and provide abstracts to summarise what an article is about. These help you decide how relevant the article is for your research.
- Archives and Libraries - provides links to website archives and specialised libraries in the field of social sciences.
- Other Resources - contains organisational websites (charities, government departments, professional bodies, research institutes, and think-tanks), podcasts and programmes, reports and online documents and useful websites.
Research tips:
- try searching on a particular eJournal to test out keywords for researching a topic rather than using Library Search. Or to make the results more manageable.
- browse another Library Subject Guide to find other resources to access.
Key Databases for Social Sciences
These databases are important across all social science subjects:
- British Education Index This link opens in a new window
Information on research, policy and practice in education and training in the UK. This is an index and abstracts only database.
- Child Development and Adolescent Studies This link opens in a new window
Produced by NISC, this bibliographic database is today's source for references to the current and historical literature related to growth and development of children through the age of 21. It contains book reviews and abstracts from hundreds of journals and a bibliography of thousands of technical reports, books, book chapters, theses and dissertations covering biomedical and social sciences worldwide are indexed. More than 342,000 records are included with over 10,000 new records added each year.
- CINAHL UltimateCINAHL Ultimate offers a comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text access for more than 600 journals indexed in CINAHL Ultimate. This authoritative file contains full text for many journals relevant to students and practitioners in the field of Health and Social Care.
- Community Care Inform Children
Community Care Inform is an online resource that enables professionals working with children and young people to make, and evidence their decisions. It is a trusted, essential resource that saves time, improves quality and supports learning.
- Education Abstracts (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new windowEducation Abstracts is an education research database providing high-quality indexing and abstracts for hundreds of journals. Coverage spans all levels of education and includes adult education, multicultural education and teaching methods.
- Education Research Complete This link opens in a new windowEducation Research Complete includes all levels of education from early childhood and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. It also covers areas of curriculum instruction as well as administration, policy, funding, and related social issues. It contains the full text of over 1,300 journals and 2,500 education related conference papers and access to over 500 eBooks. Useful for Childhood Studies.
- ERIC This link opens in a new window
ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and resources. The database contains more than 1.3 million records and provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index.
- Health Research Premium Collection
The Health Research Premium Collection includes a broad collection of journals, evidence-based resources, full-text dissertations and health and medical databases. This is the UK academic collection.
Partner Staff Access
Log in directly on the Proquest website. Click on ‘Login through your Library’ and choose ‘Institutional Login'. - HeinOnline Law Journal Library This link opens in a new windowHeinOnline's Law Journal Library is comprehensive, beginning with the first issue ever published of more than 1,800 law and law-related periodicals. Includes more than 26 million pages of articles, book reviews, cases, decisions, and legislation. Useful for criminology and social work.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary collection of eBooks on the JSTOR platform. - Lexis+ UK This link opens in a new window
Lexis+ UK includes annotated legislation, cases, forms, precedents and commentary. It includes Halsburys Laws, ICLR Law Reports, UK Acts, Statutory Instruments, the Encyclopaedia of Forms & Precedents, definitions of legal terms, over 80 leading journals.
Partner Staff Access:
Available to centres teaching law programmes. - Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new windowLarge full text psychology database offering full text coverage for nearly 400 journals and covers topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry and psychology, mental processes, counselling, and observational and experimental methods.
- SSOAR (Social Science Open Access Repository) This link opens in a new window
The full-text server SSOAR, which is maintained at GESIS Leibniz Institute for the Social Sciences, collects and archives literature of relevance to the social sciences and makes it available in open access on the Internet in accordance with the Berlin Declaration on Open Access to Knowledge in the Sciences and Humanities.
- SocINDEX with Full Text
This sociology research database containing full text articles from almost 800 journals dating back to 1908.
