Skip to Main Content

University of Sunderland Library

Special Collections

Delve into the history and story of our Special Collections

Home

The University of Sunderland’s Special Collections are a vital resource for learning and research, actively supporting the values and ambitions of both the University and the Library. To foster inclusive engagement and a sustained interest in the Special Collections - academically, locally, and even on national and international levels - we emphasise key components such as preservation, access, promotion, and collaboration.

We are committed to:

  • Creating an academic environment that integrates research, teaching, and learning.
  • Collaborating with local communities through outreach initiatives.
  • Contributing to the preservation of local heritage while engaging with a broad spectrum of audiences across various age groups. On a national level, we focus on safeguarding and providing access to collections of significant importance.

Within our Special Collections, you’ll find records and objects relating to organisations, individuals, and historical periods. Our collections are not only diverse but also rich in content, offering an excellent opportunity for original research.

Our Special Collections include:

  • Original historical records
  • Photographs
  • Letters
  • Cartoons and maps
  • Video recordings
  • Pictures
  • Objects
  • Rare books and other printed works

We received Heritage Lottery Funding to establish the facilities, and access is available by appointment to University staff, students, and the public. Please contact us to arrange an appointment as access hours are restricted. You can live chat using Library Talk, email us at specialcollections@sunderland.ac.uk or write to us at Special Collections, Murray Health, University of Sunderland, Chester Road, Sunderland, SR1 3SD.

Searching our collections

Our archives are located on the top floor of Murray Health. Due to the unique character of the material in these collections, items must be viewed in the Special Collections Reading Room. You can search our dedicated catalogue to view items within these collections.

We are in the process of developing an exciting new Digital Archive, which will provide access to our collections online. This is a long-term project with content being regularly added.