Company, Industry and Market Research
The Library subscribes to a number of databases where you will find market research, company information and industry reports. Explore the tabs below to learn more about the where you can find company, industry and market research, and guidance on how to search theses databases.
Where to Find Company, Industry and Market Research
Company Information
You may want to compare companies across industries, financial or employee criteria, or you may want to research individual companies of interest. The Library subscribes to a number of databases that provide company profiles that detail the market position and financial performance of leading international companies.
- Euromonitor Passport (Euromonitor International Market Research Monitor) This link opens in a new window
Provides company profiles including and overview and data and analysis on topics such as market share, performance sales, and growth. - Marketline (Marketline Company Profiles) (Previously Datamonitor) This link opens in a new windowProvides international company profiles written by independent analysts for Marketline.
- Business Source Ultimate This link opens in a new windowContains company profiles and SWOT analyses; plus profiles and interviews with key business leaders.
- Global Newsstream This link opens in a new windowSource of company information reported in the local, national and international press.
Industry Reports on IBISWorld
IBISWorld provides industry intelligence that analyses the environment of over 400 UK industries using the five-digit level of the UK Standard Industrial Classification (UKSIC). Each industry report provides detailed performance data and analysis on the market, leading competitors, operating strengths and weaknesses, external drivers, major player market strategies, industry profit and cost structure benchmarks.
- IBISWorld This link opens in a new window IBISWorld provides industry intelligence that analyses the environment of over 400 UK industries using the five-digit level of the UK Standard Industrial Classification (UKSIC). Each industry report provides detailed performance data and analysis on the market, supply chain, operating strengths and weaknesses, external drivers, major player market strategies, industry profit and cost structure benchmarks
- IBISWorld Industry Insider (Blog)
Useful source of articles and analysis on key and emerging industry trends and issues. Includes articles on applying industry research.
Applying Industry Research:
The following articles are from the IBISWorld Insider Industry blog series on Applying Industry Research:
Market Research on Euromonitor Passport
Euromonitor Passport (which also goes under the name Euromonitor International Market Research Monitor) offers statistics, analysis and reports on global markets, economies and consumers. It will be useful for anyone looking to find information on industries or particular companies, particular countries or regions, economic trends or consumer behaviour.
Market research data that analysts at Euromonitor have collated including consumer lifestyle reports, future demographics, country profiles, updates on consumer and industry trends, company information, market sizes and economic indicators.
Passport covers more than 200 countries and regions, with a global outlook.
Data sets are provided in a range of formats, from excel tables to reports and analysis, and are exportable and available in charts and graphs, analysis and visual figures known as “dashboards” that provide quick access to info about selected markets.
- Euromonitor Passport (Euromonitor International Market Research Monitor) This link opens in a new window
Global market analysis software platform, which analyses key industries in countries around the world. This online market research tool also monitors industry trends and provides strategic analysis and a market size and market share database for key industries and sectors in over 220 countries.
Partner Staff Access
Log in directly on the Euromonitor Passport website. Choose 'Institutional Login'.
- Euromonitor Passport User Guide
This downloadable guide from Passport is a great starting point.
Passport provide some excellent videos that will show you how to build effective searches, understand and manipulate your results lists and generate reports using the dashboards. You can find these from the Euromonitor Passport home screen in the top right hand menu - Help Guides and Videos.