Introduction
Academic journals publish academic research in the form of journal articles. You may think of them a bit like scholarly magazines. Issues are published periodically (for example monthly or quarterly). The Library subscribes to many subject databases which contain journal articles. For business and management the following databases will be particularly relevant:
- Library Search Search our collections and subscriptions.
- Business Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
EBSCO Business Source Ultimate is a database that provides access to a variety of resources for business and management research, including:
• Access to over 3,500 full-text journals, including Harvard Business Review, Business Week, Fortune, and MIS Quarterly.
• Company profiles, histories, executive biographies, and interviews
• Market research reports and industry reports
• Case studies and SWOT analyses
• Over 66,000 business and economics videos, plus 75,000 Associated Press videos
• Over 1,000 active global open access journals
Please watch the video guide below from EBSCO on content available through Business Source Ultimate
- Emerald Management 120
This collection of journals covers a range of subjects related to business and finance from Accounting to Women in Management. Coverage generally begins with 1994. For more information, http://info.emeraldinsight.com/products/xtra/index.htm
- Science Direct This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect has over 18,000 full-text Elsevier journals , plus abstracts and covers such topics as physical sciences and engineering, life sciences, health sciences, and social sciences and humanities.
Partner Staff Access
Log in directly on the Science Direct website. Choose ‘Sign in via Organization’.
Help Searching for & Using Journal Articles
Work through our tutorial to get some tips on reading academic journal articles!
The Library subscribes to journals chosen in partnership with your Faculty that you can access online. The most effective way of searching is to use Library Search so that you can search across all available sources.