You can create a personal account on the databases you search to enable you to save searches and articles to a folder. Saving your searches means that:

• You can revisit and adjust your search strategy without needing to redo the search
• You can rerun the search later to review the articles found and select articles for inclusion 
• You have a record of how you've searched showing the keywords used and how they have been combined using Boolean operators which you can use to help with documenting the search strategy in your review

The process of saving a search and creating an account differs between different database platforms. Check the help guide on the database for more information on how to set up a personal account and save searches.

As a systematic review must have a transparent, replicable search strategy it is important that it is fully documented within your written report. Specific guidance on how to present your search strategy may be provided within guidance you are given by your module leader or supervisor. If you are writing a systematic review for publication in a journal, check for specific guidance from the publisher of the journal. General principles are set out here.

To document your search clearly, you should include the following:

1. Details of each information source that was searched, including the date the search was last run.
   For bibliographic databases, specify the database name (e.g. MEDLINE, CINAHL), the interface or platform through which the database was searched (e.g. Ovid, EBSCOhost), and the dates of coverage (if this information is provided)
2. The full search strategy used for each information source that has been searched, including limits and filters used.
   For bibliographic databases, you should detail the full line-by-line search strategy as run in the database. This will show the search terms used and how they have been combined using Boolean operators to create the search. It should also show the limits applied within the database, which will link back to the eligibility criteria you have set out for the review. You can also include the number of search results retrieved at each stage.

It's important to document the full search run in the database up to the point where you start screening your search results. 

Example of search strategy documentation

CINAHL Ultimate was searched via EBSCOhost on 04 August 2025